Can’t Be Stopped: Carmel Girls Win 34th-Straight Indiana State Championship Title (PHOTO GALLERY)

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 Indiana Girls High School State Swimming and Diving Championship took place on Saturday, Feb. 15 at the IUPUI Natatorium in Indianapolis, Ind.

Carmel used their impressive depth to earn their 34th-consecutive high school championship team title, winning all three relays and two individual state titles. The Hounds’ final score of 426.5 ranks fourth on their all-time list of points scored.

In true dynasty-fashion, Carmel extends their all-time national record of most consecutive championships across all sports.

Click HERE for full results and team scores.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Carmel – 426.5
2. Fishers – 208
3. Franklin Community – 165
4. Northridge – 158
5. Carroll Fort Wayne – 155

Carmel began their winning ways as Berit Berglund (25.08), Maggie Love (28.79), Meredith Berglund (24.60), and Colleen Duffy (22.86) opened the meet by winning the 4×50 medley relay in a combined time of 1:41.33. Carroll Fort Wayne took a distant second in 1:43.38 while Franklin Community finished third in 1:44.16.

Carmel’s Gretchen Lueking led the charge in the 200 free, stopping the clock in 1:47.50 as the first of five swimmers to crack the 1:50-barrier. It was a tight race for second place as Bloomington South’s Kristina Paegle was the runner-up in 1:48.23 with South Bend Saint Joseph’s Mary Cate Pruitt taking a close third in 1:48.28.

Zionsville sophomore Devon Kitchel cruised to first in the 200 IM as the only swimmer under the two-minute marker, doing so in 1:59.47. Carmel’s MacKenna Lieske raced to second place in a final time of 2:00.78 as Trinity Lutheran’s Rachel Sabotin took third in 2:02.35.

Reitz Memorial’s Elizabeth Broshears, who has committed to Indiana, splashed-and-dashed her way to the gold medal in the 50 free. Her winning time of 22.97 just out-touched silver medalist Meghan Christman of Carmel’s time of 22.99. Northridge junior and future Georgia Bulldog Elsa Fretz took third in 23.14.

Fishers’ Morgan Casey dove to first place on the 1-meter diving board after posting a final score of 508.90 for the victory. Plainfield’s Daryn Wright followed in second with a score of 502.90 while Mooresville senior Sadie Mills finished third with 498.20 points.

Not too long after winning gold in the 200 IM, Kitchel was back in the water for another state title in the 100 fly. Her final time of 54.04 was just off her prelims swim of 53.79. Carroll Fort Wayne’s Teagen Moon flew to the wall in 54.72 to clinch the silver medal and bronze belonged to Trinity Lutheran’s Rachel Sabotin.

Paegle earned another silver medal in the 100 free to match her place from the 200 free earlier after she sprinted to the wall in 49.57 for the win. Lueking also broke the 50-second mark in a time of 49.76 for second place and Hobart’s Emma Wright rounded out the top three in 50.52.

Pruitt, who has verbally committed to Notre Dame, dominated the 500 free to successfully defend her state title. Her time of 4:47.03 bested the field by over seven seconds and was only two seconds off the overall state record. Fishers freshman Josephine Ramey battled to seccond in 4:54.73 and 4:56.31 was good enough for Franklin Community’s Sarah Hoffman to take third.

Carmel’s Duffy (23.73), Avery Williams (23.39), Lueking (22.94), and Madelyn Christman (22.55) combined in 1:32.61 for a victory in the 4×50 free relay. Carroll Fort Wayne followed in 1:33.86 to earn the runner-up position while Franklin Community raced to third in 1:34.27.

After leading off Carmel’s winning medley relay, B. Berglund was back in the water to earn the first individual gold medal of her high school career in the 100 back. She powered home in a time of 53.41 for the win as Carroll Fort Wayne’s Mya DeWitt (53.79) and Hamilton Southeastern’s Abigail Harter (54.74) completed the podium.

Noblesville’s Sammy Huff won the 100 breast state title after the junior got her hands to the wall the quickest in 1:02.87. Franklin Community’s Kabria Chapman – a future Indiana Hoosier – raced to second in 1:03.09 and Lieske was right behind her in 1:03.11 for third.

Lueking (50.34), Madelyn Christman (50.09), Meghan Christman (50.21), and B. Berglund (50.58) gave Carmel the relay sweep as the won the closing 4×100 free relay in 3:21.22. Carroll Fort Wayne (3:26.26) and Zionsville (3:27.80) finished second and third, respectively, to conclude the 2020 championship meet.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy Krauss Mead
3 years ago

Jenny Hendricks ?

Ralph Pollock
3 years ago


Jinna Khamkeuang
3 years ago

I can’t wait when some new swim team will beat them. But, that might Never happen!

Thomas A. Small
3 years ago

Congratulations great job

Jennifer Martin
3 years ago

Way to go Carmel! ❤️

TK Shelley Causey Christie

What an amazing achievement!