Smithson Valley Breaks 20-Year-Old State Relay Record as Southlake Carroll Wins Ninth-Straight Texas Boys 6A Title

smithson valley relay uil
Photo Courtesy: Texas UIL Twitter (@uiltexas)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Texas 6A Boys’ State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on Saturday, Feb. 16 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Natatorium on the campus of University of Texas – Austin.

Comal Smithson Valley broke a 20-year-old state record in the 4×50 medley relay to highlight the meet – a mark that was set before any of them were born.

For the ninth-consecutive season, Southlake Carroll showed their impressive depth to secure the team title with 246.5 points. It’s the Dragons’ 11th championship crown in program history.

Click here for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Southlake Carroll – 246.5
2. Conroe the Woodlands – 216
3. Humble Kingwood – 188
4. Katy Seven Lakes – 150
5. Comal Smithson Valley – 147

The meet got off to an exciting start as Comal Smithson Valley’s Joe Hunt (22.49), Carter Hill (26.13), Konnar Klinksiek (21.37) and Amechi Nwaeze combined to win the 4×50 medley relay. Their time of 1:30.73 broke the Texas state and 6A record of 1:31.25 set by Conroe the Woodlands in 1999. Humble Kingwood (1:31.76) and Conroe the Woodlands (1:32.54) took second and third, respectively.

KECE’s Donny Scott, a Michigan commit, cruised to first in the 200 free, stopping the clock in 1:36.54 for the win. It was a tight race for second as HUKI’s Victor Tremblay was the runner-up in 1:38.01 and AUWL’s Jaden Luo took a close third in 1:38.07.

RORO’s Vincent Ribeiro came out on top in the 200 IM, finishing the race in 1:47.98 for the gold medal. Silver went to NEBR’s Isaac Barrera (1:48.75) and HUKI’s Jacob Bass (1:49.37) grabbed bronze as the only swimmers in the field under 1:50.

KLEI’s Caleb Duncan, who is off to Louisville, splashed-and-dashed his way to a win in the 50 free after posting a final time of 20.09. SPRI’s Dalton Lowe raced to second in 20.20 while Klinksiek sprinted to a third-place finish in 20.24.

Shortly after, Lowe – who has given Louisville a 2020 verbal – was back in the water to win the 100 fly. He got his hands to the wall in 48.18 for the gold; silver went to Klinksiek in 48.40 while KELL’s Tyler Johns grabbed the bronze in 48.91.

Army-bound Jacob Powell of Klein dropped over a second from his prelims time to win the 100 free in a quick 44.55. 50 free champion Duncan was the runner-up in 45.17 while NEBR’s Aaron Bruns sprinted to third in 45.33.

HOBE’s Briggs Shiller dropped three seconds from his entry time to win the 500 free in 4:22.72. Rounding out the top three were ALLE’s Jakob Clark (4:24.25) in second and COTW’s Matthew Tannenberger (4:27.64) in third.

Comal Smithson Valley’s 4×50 free relay squad of Shaun Besch (22.11), Hunt (20.53), Nwaeze (20.80) and Klinksiek (19.82) won in 1:23.26, only four-tenths ahead of runner-up Klein (1:23.66). Fort Bend Clements finished third in 1:24.55.

Four boys were under the 50-second barrier in the 100 back, led by sophomore Tyler Hulet who won in 48.82. Behind him were Hunt in 49.28 for second and RORO’s Adam Haig in 49.30 for third.

Scott showed his versatility by adding a 100 breast win to match his 500 free hardware. He got his hands to the wall firs tin 55.19 ahead of Ribeiro second-place showing of 55.79. HUKI’s Jacob Bass completed the top three in 56.09.

MNLR’s Kyle Sanchez dove to the top spot on the 1-meter board, finishing with a final score of 513.45. Jackson Miller of SOCA took second with 499.65 points ahead of third-place finisher Cameron Cash of COTW’s 494.45 points.

The meet concluded as Conroe the Woodlands’ Nathaniel Hickman-Chow (46.28), Luke Jorris (46.47), Hulet (45.51) and Tannenberger (44.47) combined to win the 4×100 free relay in 3:02.73. Southlake Carroll (3:03.56) and Klein (3:05.13) finished second and third, respectively.


  1. Patrick J Willey

    Congrats to them. Those records are extremely fast and a real accomplishment to break them.

  2. Delta Burchi

    Carter Burchi just read these times holy