Ankeny Wins First-Ever Iowa Boys State Championship Title; Dowling Catholic Takes Down Relay Record

Photo Courtesy: IHSAA (@IHSAA)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Iowa High School State Championships were held at University of Iowa’s Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The meet took place on Saturday, February 9.

Ankeny earned their first championship crown in program history, claiming the meet with 226 points to hold off Waukee (210) and Bettendorf (205.5). Dowling Catholic broke the Iowa state record in the 4×50 medley relay en route to finishing fourth overall in the team standings.

Click here for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

  1. Ankeny – 226
  2. Waukee – 210
  3. Bettendorf – 205.5
  4. Dowling Catholic – 195
  5. Valley – 164

Dowling Catholic started the meet with a bang, clocking in a state record in the 4×50 medley relay. Nick Chase (23.11), Jerry Xu (26.15), Gage Agnew (22.36), and John Culver (21.05) broke Iowa City West High’s state record of 1:33.39 set back in 2015. Iowa City West High came in second this year with a time of 1:34.75 followed by Ankeny with a time of 1:35.22.

Trent Frandson of Ankeny won the 200 free with a time of 1:37.75, followed by James Pinter of Iowa City West with a time of 1:41.23 and Dowling Catholic’s Nick Chase with a time of 1:42.35.

Frandson later claimed another state title in the 500 free with a time of 4:23.46, while Dylan Moffatt of Cedar Falls took second with a time of 4:31.97. Cameron Linder of Waukee claimed the bronze with a time of 4:35.12.

Linder (1:51.11) and Moffatt (1:52.14) both medaled in the 200 IM before their 500 free successes. They were followed closely by Andrew Reiter of Waukee with a 1:52.29. Reiter also took third in the 100 fly; Izaak Hajek of Iowa City West took first with a time of 49.45 and Davenport Central’s Kyle Hopewell splashing into second with a time of 51.07.

Charlie Bunn of Bettendorf won the 50 free with a time of 20.42 and the 100 free with a time of 44.94. Kevin Burke of Pleasant Valley and Jacob Keller of West Des Moines Valley dueled in the 50 for the next two spots on the podium, with times of 20.61 and 20.65 respectively. Pinter (45.74) took second in the 100, followed by Sioux City Metro’s William Rankin with a time of 46.11.

The 4×50 free relay title was earned by Bettendorf, with a time of 1:23.56, consisting of Andrew Ottavianelli (21.25), Luke Nickles (21.20), Sam Mitvalsky (21.35), and Bunn (19.76). Ankeny and West Des Moines Valley followed within a second, with times of 1:23.68 and 1:24.47 respectively. Bettendorf also took first in the 4×100 free relay, consisting of Ottavianelli (46.64), Nickles (47.53), Alex Stone (46.55), and Bunn (44.38).

Seniors Chase (50.10) and Burke (50.41) took first and second, respectively, in the 100 back as Dowling Catholic’s John Culver hit the wall to take third with a time of 50.54. Iowa City City High’s Forrest Frazier defended his state title in the 100 breast, winning the gold with a time of 55.17. Keokuk junior Dylan Jones (57.94) and senior Jacob McCredie (59.05) of Pleasant Valley achieved second and third.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Charlene Tallen
5 years ago

Congrats kids! That’s awesome

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x