USMS Elects Officers, Announces Award Winners at 2023 Annual Meeting

Photo Courtesy: Laura M. Hamel

U.S. Masters Swimming (USMS) elected officers to its Board of Directors and honored many of its deserving volunteers and coaches with service awards at its 2023 annual meeting Sept. 8–10 in Houston.

The following officers were elected: Ed Coates (South Texas) as president, Julie Dussliere (Florida Gold Coast) as vice president of administration, Kenny Brisbin (Southern Pacific) as vice president of community services), Crystie McGrail (Colorado) as vice president of local operations, Robin Smith (Southern Pacific) as vice president of programs, Carrie Stolar (Minnesota) as secretary, and Jill Gellatly (Gulf) as treasurer.

U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, the recipients are David Brancamp (Pacific), Erika Braun (North Carolina), Virgil Chancey (Southern Pacific), Omar de Armas (Southern Pacific), Stephen Dougherty (Delaware Valley), Mike Hillegonds (Illinois), Sue Jensen (New England), Stu Kahn (Pacific), Lorraine Masse (Pacific Northwest), Mike Murray (Wisconsin), Doug Sayles (New England), Laura Shope (Pacific), Kim Elsbach (Pacific), Jill Springer (Maryland), Natalie Taylor (Potomac Valley).

Each year USMS honors a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s U.S. Masters Swimming Coach of the Year is Rick Walker (Florida).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country. The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to honor Coach Kerry O’Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. This year’s recipients are Chuck Beatty (Lake Erie), Kenny Brisbin (Southern Pacific), Amy San Filippo (Ohio), William Kolb (Kentucky).

U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a local and a regional club every year with the U.S. Masters Swimming Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates for this award. This year’s Local Club of the Year is Tamalpais Aquatics Masters (Pacific).

The Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally-operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming. This year’s recipient is Teddy Decker (New Mexico).

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award is presented annually to the athletes, coaches, volunteers, or clubs who show a public commitment to diversity, equity, equality, and inclusion across race, gender, age, religion, identity, and ability at the club, LMSC/Zone, or national level. The award recognizes individuals or clubs that create a diverse and inclusive environment in USMS, thereby making everyone feel empowered to bring their full, authentic, unique selves to the sport. This year’s recipients for the inaugural Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award are Rook Campbell (Pacific), Marty Hendrick (Florida Gold Coast), and Ally Sega (Connecticut).

The USMS National Championship Meets Award is presented annually to someone who makes significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets. The award recognizes efforts to assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-level competitions (including international meets) held in the U.S. This year’s recipient is Teri White (Pacific Northwest).

The U.S. Masters Swimming Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming by embodying the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming; contributing notably, such as serving in USMS national committees, LMSC open water or long distance chair, event or safety director, official, coach, clinician, or volunteer); contributes notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local); or demonstrates extraordinary measurable achievement and impact. This year’s award goes to Ali Hall (Pacific).

The Long Distance National Championship Award is presented annually to a USMS-registered individual or group that has made significant contributions to the success and promotion of USMS long distance national championship events. These include the five virtual championships and six open water events. This year’s recipient is Marisa Frieder (Oregon).

U.S. Masters Swimming Officials Excellence Award is given annually to a Certified Official in recognition of outstanding and significant contributions to U.S. Masters Swimming at the international, national, zone, and/or local level, including pool and open water competitions. The recipient isn’t required to be a U.S. Masters Swimming member. An individual may receive this award only once. The recipient may be a currently active official or one who has retired from officiating or is deceased. This year’s award goes to John King (Pacific) and Teri White (Snake River).

More Masters News

The U.S. Masters Swimming June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose communications efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the author of USMS’s first official rulebook and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming world. This year’s recipient is Lucianne Pugh (Pacific Northwest).

The USMS Fitness Education Committee annually presents the USMS Fitness Award to USMS-registered individuals and organizations demonstrating outstanding contribution to fitness activities within USMS. This year’s award goes to Sarah Perkins (Connecticut) and Stacy Sweetser (New England).

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with USMS. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x