Ohio State Women Win Home Invitational; Indiana Men Win

Photo Courtesy: NCAA Media

Ohio State Women Win Home Invitational; Indiana Men Win

The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team held off Kentucky and Indiana to win its home invite on Saturday.

The Buckeyes scored 2,258 points to finish ahead of Kentucky (2,198), Indiana (2,023), Notre Dame (1,429), UCLA (1,355), Virginia Tech (938), Pitt (834), Navy (789), Cincinnati (193) and Miami (158).

Meanwhile, the Indiana men pulled away to win the meet with 2,830 points. Ohio State took second (2,283), followed by Virginia Tech (1,663.5), Notre Dame (1,515), Kentucky (1,222), Pitt (1,219), Cincinnati (700), Miami (158), Kenyon (23) and Navy (9.5).

Ohio State’s Amy Fulmer won the 100 freestyle in 48.09, finishing just ahead of Kentucky’s Riley Gaines (48.43) and Ohio State teammate Katherine Zenick (48.57).

Indiana’s Brendan Burns won the men’s 200 backstroke in 1:40.27, going 1-2 with Jacob Steele (1:40.95). Burns won the 200 butterfly in 1:41.74, ahead of Ohio State’s Alex Quach (1:42.92). Kentucky’s Sophie Sorenson won the 200 backstroke in 1:52.18, going 1-2 with Caitlin Brooks (1:53.07).

More college news

Ohio State’s Maya Geringer won the 1650 freestyle women’s race in 16:06.02. Indiana’s Michael Brinegar won the men’s 1650 freestyle, finishing in 14:40.23. Gaines won the 200 butterfly later in the final session, touching the wall in 1:54.84 to hold off Navy’s Sydney Harrington (1:55.37).

Ohio State’s Katherine Zenick, Teresa Ivan, Emily Crane and Amy Fulmer won the 400 freestyle relay in 3:14.35, holding off Indiana (3:14.99) and Kentucky (3:18.06). The Indiana women went 1-2-3 in the 200 breaststroke behind Brearna Crawford (2:08.40), Mackenzie Looze (2:08.64) and Noelle Peplowski (2:08.72), finishing ahead of Kentucky’s Bailey Bonnett (2:09.24).

Virginia Tech’s Youssef Ramadan won the men’s 100 freestyle in 42.32, holing off Ohio State’s Ruslan Gazlev (42.66) and Indiana’s Rafael Miroslaw (42.76). Notre Dame’s Josh Bottelberghe won the men’s 200 breaststroke (1:52.44), holding off Indiana’s Josh Matheny (1:53.03).

Ohio State’s men’s squad won the 400 free relay as well. Hunter Armstrong, Sex Andreis, Alex Quach and Ruslan Gaziev won in 2:48.84. Indiana was second (2:49.05), followed by Virginia Tech (2:50.67).