Ohio State Swimming Sweeps Denison in In-State Duals

Photo Courtesy: NCAA Media

The Ohio State swimming and diving teams remained undefeated after dominant dual meet victories over Denison. The No. 5 women’s team defeated the Big Red, 180-108, and the No. 14 men’s team won 186-103.

Tristan Jankovics won two events on the night, placing first in the 200 free with a time of 1:38.41 and in the 200 breast with a time of 2:01.90.

Josephine Panitz placed first in the 100 breast (1:00.50) and the 200 breast (2:12.08). Both her times are NCAA B standard times. She finished the 100 breast three seconds ahead of second-place Reese Dehen (1:03.59) and had a five-second lead on second-place Dehen (2:17.75) in the 200 breast.

Janie Boyle won both the 1-meter and 3-meter dives. She scored a 306.90 on the 1-meter and a 313.87 on the 3-meter; both are NCAA Zones qualifying scores.

Both Ohio State teams opened the night with victories in the 200 medley relay. On the women’s side. The team of Tristan Harrison, Hannah Bach, Katherine Zenick and Teresa Ivan finished in 1:38.56. For the men, Eli Stoll, Karl Helmuth, Evan Fentress and Jean-Pierre Khouzam finished in 1:30.30.

In the 1000 free, Krista Marlin and Owen Conley earned first-place finishes for Ohio State. Marlin touched the wall at 10:08.48 and Conley turned in a time of 9:36.59.

Zenick was victorious in the 200 free, finishing in 1:48.92.

Harrison won the 100 back for the women with a time of 54.68. For the men, Stoll earned his first individual collegiate win, swimming the 100 back in 50.13.

Lucy Malys (2:02.56) and Khouzam (1:50.37) were the winners of the 200 fly for Ohio State.

Amy Fulmer took first place in the 50 free with an NCAA B standard time of 22.63. Tomas Navikonis won the 50 free for the men with a time of 20.92.

In the 100 free, Hall (51.37) and Pete Krusinski (45.98) earned wins.

Lyle Yost was the winner of the 3-meter dive, recording an overall score of 417.30, which is an NCAA Zones qualifying score.

Clayton Chaplin won the 1-meter dive with an NCAA Zones qualifying score of 377.85.

Kyra Sommerstad won the 200 back for the women, finishing in 2:04.65. Luke Paxton was the winner for the men with a time of 1:50.40.

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with Ohio State Athletics. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact Advertising@SwimmingWorld.com. 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x