Northwestern Women Overtake Wisconsin; Badger Men Win

Miriam Guevara; Photo Courtesy: Northwestern Athletics

The Northwestern women swam past Wisconsin in a Big Ten showdown on Saturday. The Wildcats won 162-38.

The Wisconsin men won 181-119.

In the women’s meet, Northwestern’s Justine Murdock, Hannah Brunzell, Miriam Guevara and Audrey Yu won in 3:40.60 to start the meet strong for the Wildcats.

Brunzell won the 100 breaststroke (1:02.29). Hana Shimizu-Bowers won the 200 butterfly (1:58.51). Yu won the 50 freestyle (23.07). Lindsay Ervin won the 100 freestyle (49.97). Guevara won the 100 fly (54.44). Jamie Brennan won the 200 IM (2:02.06), going 1-2 with Shimizu-Bowers (2:02.29).

Northwestern’s Ervin, Yu, Riley Huddleston and Ally Larson won the 200 free relay (1:31.13).

The Wisconsin women’s swimming and diving team began the second half of the season with a dual meet at the Soderholm Aquatic Center. The No. 17 Badgers fell to Northwestern, 162-138.

Standing out for the Badgers was sophomore Abby Carlson. She was the only individual double-winner for Wisconsin, winning the 200 free in 1 minute, 47.62 seconds and the 500 free in 4:49.20.

Keeping up the winning momentum for Wisconsin was sophomore Paige McKenna, who hit the wall first in the 1000 free with a time of 9:53.58.

Mackenzie McConagha picked up another win of her own in the 100 back, with a season best time of 54.69. Phoebe Bacon continued the Badgers’ success in the backstroke with a win in the 200 back with a time of 1:58.35. Elizabeth Moore added a win for Wisconsin in the 200 breast (2:14.82).

In the men’s meet, Wisconsin men’s swimming and diving team improved to 4-1, 2-0 B1G on the season with a 181-119 win over Northwestern on Saturday afternoon.

Junior Jake Newmark was a part of four event titles, including two individual events. He won the 100 back in 47.19 seconds and the 200 back in 1:46.11. The Garden City, New York, native also led off the 400 medley relay to a win. Newmark teamed with Will Myhre, Constantin Bensch and Ben Wiegand to win the relay in 3:12.62. Newmark and Wiegand and combined with Taiko Torepe-Ormsby and Dylan Delaney to win the 200 free relay in 1:20.24.

More college news

Wiegand was also an individual event winner for Wisconsin, touching in 20.01 for the victory in the 50 free. Torepe-Ormsby finished second in 20.51 while Ryan Zelen completed a 1-2-3 sweep for Wisconsin, taking third in 20.78.

Myrhe claimed an individual title in the 100 breast in 53.92. He also finished second in the 200 breast in 2:00.25.

Sophomore Yigit Aslan opened his season with two wins, claiming the 500 free in 4:28.11 and the 1000 free in 9:12.56. Junior Jude Williams finished second in both events, touching in 4:30.68 in the shorter race and 9:15.28 in the longer event.

Other event winners were Dominik Mark Torok, who claimed the 200 free in 1:39.30, and Daniel Muller, who won the one-meter board with 300.90 points.

“Coming off a big break, that was a good way to kickoff the second half of our season. Today was the first meet of three for us to fine tune our racing and move from a big training block into competition as we get ready for the Conference and NCAA Championships. Like every meet there were numerous positives, but also a lot for us to improve on as we move forward,” Wisconsin coach Yuri Suguiyama said.

Northwestern’s Ben Miller won the 200 fly (1:47.33) and 100 fly (48.57). Aleksa Bobar won the 100 free (45.29). Marcus Mok won the 200 breast (1:59.74). Tyler Lu won the 200 IM (1:47.45).

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x