NJCAA Championships: Indian River Claims 47th Consecutive Men’s Title, 39th Straight Women’s Title

Swimming World April 2021 - NJCAA Preview - Death Taxes and Indian River NJCAA

The NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships concluded on Saturday at Anne Wilder Aquatic Complex with Indian River sweeping the titles once again.

The Indian River men’s team won its stunning 47th consecutive NJCAA title, while the women won their 39th consecutive championship.

The men’s team scored 1,340 points to dominate the field. Iowa Central was second with 690.5, followed by Southwestern Oregon (598), Barton (597.5), South Georgia State (252), Iowa Lakes (223), Erie (159), Jamestown (120), Ancilla (10) and Genesee (3).

The Indian River women scored 1,374 points to roll to victory at the NJCAA championships. Southwestern Oregon was second (674), followed by Iowa Central (562), Jamestown (329), Erie (213), Genesee (184), South Georgia State (135), Barton (88) and Iowa Lakes (55).

The Indian River men started the final session with a 1-2-3 finish in the 50 fly as Liam Henry won in 21.89, followed by Brennan Hammond (21.99) and Nicholas Fauteux (22.68).

Then Luke Altmann (45.20), Dean Walker (45.48) and Caleb Brandon (45.67) went 1-2-3 in the 100 free.

Michael Deans (1:56.82) and Aramis Rivera (1:59.93) went 1-2 in the 200 breaststroke. TJ Ray (426.80 points) and Timothy Nagy (362.30) went 1-2 in 3-meter diving.

Indian River closed the meet with a victory in the 400 freestyle relay. Altmann, Brandon, Walker and John Zeiger won in 3:00.61.

Southwest Oregon’s Alejandro Robles Ruiz won the NJCAA 200 backstroke in 1:49.48.

In the women’s NJCAA meet, Indian River’s Ella Gates won the 50 fly (25.25), going 1-2-3 with Erifylli Maroutsou (25.96) and Ashley Sterchele (26.59).

Indian River’s Taryn Dailey won the 100 free in 51.59, ahead of Southwest Oregon’s Jacqueline Feurtado (51.84).

Lainie Rivas (409.05) and Lola Dragosavac (405.25) went 1-2 in 1-meter diving.

Indian River closed the NJCAA championships by winning the 400 free relay as Victoria Ortiz, Dailey, Kailea Green and Lillian Lewis won in 3:32.36.