Indian River Sprints into Lead at NJCAA Championships

Photo Courtesy: Indian River State College Athletics

The NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships opened on Wednesday at Anne Wilder Aquatic Complex with Indian River looking to continue its streak of championships.

Indian River’s Victoria Ortiz won the 1,000 freestyle (10:11.62), going 1-2-3-4-5 with teammates Esther Rydbeck (10:17.70), Ashlynn Amon (10:30.67), Samantha van Vuure (10:38.39) and Isabella Cabrera Duarte (10:54.13).

Indian River went 1-2-3 in the men’s 1,000 free behind Chance Conde (9:12.43), Maxwell Miller (9:34.76) and Connor Jones (9:36.53).

The Indian River dominance continued in the 200 IM with Taryn Dailey (2:06.00) and Rylee Woelk (2:07.58) going 1-2. Aramis Rivera (1:48.63) won the men’s race in the 200 IM for Indian River.

The NJCAA women’s 50 freestyle was not won by Indian River as Jamestown’s Marianne Yuchnitz won in 23.87. But Indian River took places 2-6 led by Sydney Weatherspoon (24.21) who took second.

More college news

In the men’s 50 free, Indian River’s Dean Walker won in 20.66.

Indian River won the women’s 800 free relay with Rydbeck, Ortiz, Kailea Green and Lillian Lewis (7:41.21), besting the rest of the field by a stunning 22 seconds.

The Indian River men won the 800 free relay as well with Caleb Brandon, Conde, Brennan Hammond and John Zeiger winning in 6:41.70.

The NJCAA Championships saw other fast performers as well.

More from the meet

Iowa Central’s Magali Mouton won the women’s 50 breaststroke in 29.99.

Barton CC’s Johan Cue Carrillo won the men’s 50 breaststroke in 24.53.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.