Michigan Sweeps Michigan State on Senior Night

michigan senior night

By Dan D’Addona.

ANN ARBOR — The Michigan swimming program has big plans for the end of the season.

The Wolverines are ranked in the top 10 in the country in both the men’s and women’s polls and looking to keep the momentum going into the Big Ten Championships and NCAA Championships.

Michigan capped its regular season with a sweep of rival Michigan State on senior night at Canham Natatorium on Friday night.

The men won 168-54 and the women won 181-76.  The national rankings. 

In the men’s meet, Kai Williams, Jacob Montague, James Jones and Evan White won the 4×100 medley relay (3:15.94).

Montague won the 50 breast (25.14). Charlie Swanson won the 400 IM (3:49.86). Paul Powers won the 50 back (22.58). Miles Smachlo won the 50 fly (21.98). PJ Ransford won the 200 free (1:37.78). White won the 100 IM (49.33). Alexander Martin won the 100 fly (49.52). Mokhtar Al-Yamani won the 500 free (4:31.68). Tommy Cope won the 100 breast (54.40). Gus Borges won the 100 free (44.98). Alex King won the 100 back (50.01). Ross Todd won 1-meter diving (382.95).

“I got here two hours before the meet to prepare and I was sitting up in the training room and tapping my feet. I was so nervous coming into this meet,” Powers said. “The whole team was excited to give this last one to the seniors. A lot of guys really came in and kicked butt for the seniors.”

For the women, senior Gabby DeLoof won the 500 freestyle (4:49.57). Katie Duggan, Emily Kopas, Vanessa Krause and Catie DeLoof won the 4×100 medley relay (3:44.10). Catie DeLoof won the 100 back (55.10).

Senior Clara Smiddy was runner-up in two events.

“It is a special night. We have been through four years with this group,” Smiddy said. “It has been an incredible ride. To bring it back here and finish at Canham is definitely an honor.”

Kopas won the 50 breast (28.35). Becca Postoll won the 200 IM (2:03.91) and 200 freestyle (1:48.92). Taylor Garcia won the 50 back (25.31) and 100 butterfly (54.69). Daria Pyshenko won the 50 butterfly (24.58). Samantha Yeo won the 100 IM (55.96). Annalisa Perez won the 100 breast (1:03.86). Rachel Bukowski won the 100 free (50.54).

Michigan State’s Amanda Ling won 1-meter diving (273.52).