Lexie Mulvihill Blasts 22.22 50 Free for State Record at Florida 4A Meet; Creekside, Oviedo Claim Titles

lexie mulvihill alexis mulvihill
Photo Courtesy: GSHS Swim and Dive Team @gshsSWIMandDIVE

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website?AgonSwim.com.?National Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

After deciding to move on with its postseason, the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) hosted the 4A State Championships on Saturday, Nov. 7 at the Sailfish Splash Waterpark and Aquatics Center in Stuart, Fla.

George Steinbrenner’s Lexie Mulvihill highlighted the meet by setting a new state record in the 50 free. Her time of 22.22 broke the previous mark held by Gulliver Prep’s Christina Swindle since 2002.

After securing the runner-up position last year, Creekside clinched the girls’ team title this season with 271 points ahead of defending champions Oviedo (246). For the second-straight year, Oviedo used their impressive depth to win the boys’ meet with a final score of 216 ahead of Creekside (192.5).

Click HERE for full results and team scores.


Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Creekside – 271
2. Oviedo – 246
3. Winter Park – 230
4. Riverview Sarasota – 190
5. Windermere – 166

The meet began as Creekside’s Grace Gavin (26.40), Madison Koutavas (29.26), Jennifer Bird (24.84), Emma Chestang (23.43) won the opening 4×50 medley relay in 1:43.93.

Flagler Palm Coast’s Micayla Cronk won the 200 free for the fourth-straight year after posting a winning time of 1:46.23. The future Florida Gator later successfully defended her title in the 100 free, clocking in at 48.78 as the only athlete to crack 50 seconds. She still owns the state record of 48.20 set in 2019.

H.B. Plant’s Ella Bathurst, who has committed to Virginia, dominated the 200 IM, winning in 1:58.24 as the only swimmer in the field under the two-minute barrier. She also won the 100 back in 52.77 – four seconds ahead of the field – and was just shy of Clara Smiddy’s 2013 state record of 52.46.

Mulvihill lit the pool on fire in the 50 free. Her time of 22.30 during prelims tied the overall FHSAA state record set by Gulliver Prep’s Christina Swindle in 2002, and she dropped a blistering 22.22 to claim the record as her own during finals. The Auburn commit was then back in the pool to win the 100 fly, getting her hands to the wall in 53.16 ahead of Allen D. Nease’s Olivia Peoples (53.41). Peoples, another Florida commit, owns the state record in the event at 52.73 set in 2019.

Riverview freshman Addison Sauickie cruised to first in the 500 free, finishing in 4:47.23 for the first state title of her career. Her teammate and fellow freshman Gracie Weyant won the 100 breast with a final time of 1:01.51 ahead of Peoples (1:02.40).

Winter Park’s Lucy Jahn (24.42), Cambria Semmen (23.16), Moriah Freitas (23.89), Lockett Bowley (23.50) combined to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:34.97.


Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Oviedo – 216
2. Creekside – 192.5
3. Bartram Trail – 188
4. Allen D. Nease – 169
5. H.B. Plant – 168

The boys’ meet began as Bartram Trail’s Mason Campbell (23.55), Nicholas Tayag (26.03), Raymond Prosinski (23.85), and Macguire McDuff (19.82) won the 4×50 medley relay in 1:33.25, just ahead of Oviedo (1:33.38).

Riverview’s Liam Custer dominated the 200 IM, posting a four-second victory with a final time of 1:47.41 as the only swimmer to crack the 1:50-mark. His second victory of the night came in the 500 free where he won by nine seconds with a final time of 4:21.41.

Seminole’s Dawson Joyce sprinted to gold in the 50 free, clocking in at 19.79. SAND’s Larry Salls also snuck under the 20-second barrier in 19.94 for silver. Joyce, who has verbally committed to Florida, also won the 100 free with a time of 43.59. Second went to Macguire McDuff of Parkersburg South, who will also soon suit up for the Gators, in 44.32.

Gulf Coast’s Jack Stokvis led the charge in the 100 fly, finishing first with a time of 48.36. H.B. Plant’s Tommy Nagle got his hands to the wall the fastest in the 100 breast, touching the wall in 55.10 for the win.

Creekside’s Dominic Miller (20.67), David Gapinski (20.33), Aidan Henry (21.38), and Jacob Douberly (21.72) won the 4×50 free relay in 1:24.10. Lake Brantley’s Sage Sungail cruised to first in the 200 free, getting his hand to the wall in 1:37.99.

Oviedo’s Davis Hanley powered home to a win in the 100 back with a time of 49.15. Hanley (46.62) then teamed up with teammates Justin Rockaway (47.19), Andrew Christensen (47.67), Ryan Reynolds (45.83) concluded the meet by winning the 4×100 free relay in 3:07.31.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

This girl is not only an amazing swimmer but an even more amazing person. What she has been through with her brother and why she is still swimming is the best thing to come out of 2020. Just google her.