Jake Mitchell, Wyatt Davis Lead Carmel to Sixth-Straight Indiana Boys Championship Title

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website?AgonSwim.com.?National Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 Indiana Boys State Swimming and Diving Championship took place on Saturday, Feb. 29 at the IUPUI Natatorium in Indianapolis, Ind.

A total of five Indiana state records were broken during the meet:


Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

  • Carmel’s 4×50 medley relay (1:27.94)
  • Carmel’s Jake Mitchell – 500 free (4:14.68)
  • Carmel’s Wyatt Davis – 200 IM (1:44.17)
  • Carmel’s Wyatt Davis – 100 back (45.80)
  • Carmel’s 4×100 free relay (2:56.36)

The meet was highlighted by senior Jake Mitchell breaking the National Public High School record in the 500 free with a jaw-dropping 4:14.68.  Carmel used their impressive depth to win the sixth-straight championship crown with 331 points ahead of Munster (183) and Chesterton (163).

Click HERE for full results and team scores.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Carmel – 331
2. Munster – 183
3. Chesterton – 163
4. Fishers – 158
5. Zionsville – 145

Carmel’s Davis (21.15), Ryan Malicki (24.83), Griffin Hadley (21.77), and Mitchell (20.19) opened the meet with a bang by winning the 4×50 medley relay in 1:27.94, eclipsing their own state mark of 1:28.00 set in 2018. Munster finished second in 1:28.96 while Zionsville finished third in 1:30.02.

Future Michigan Wolverine Mitchell cruised to first in the 200 free for the second year in a row, stopping the clock in 1:34.05 as the first of only six swimmers under the 1:40 barrier. Hamilton Southeastern’s Keegan Streett raced to second in 1:37.08 while Franklin Community’s McKillip Ratzlaff finished third in 1:37.24.

Not too long after leading off the winning medley relay, Davis – who will join teammate Mitchell in Ann Arbor in 2020 – was back in the pool to defend his state title in the 200 IM with a final time of 1:44.17 to break Kyle Whitaker’s 2010 state record of 1:44.55. Second went to Carmel’s Gus Rothrock in 1:47.65 while third belonged to Franklin Community’s Cade Oliver in 1:47.82.

Boonville’s Braden Rollins splashed-and-dashed his way to the top spot in the 50 free, clocking in at a quick 20.20. Center Grove’s Ethan Martin sprinted to the runner-up spot with a time of 20.41 while Fort Wayne Carroll’s Tristan DeWitt took third in 20.49.

Samuel Bennett of Delta dove to first on the 1-meter board, finishing with a final score of 500.10 for the victory. Valparaiso’s Jack Schwartz placed second with 485.30 points while New Palestine’s Colin Stacey took third with a total score of 470.40 points.

Fort Wayne Carroll’s Tristan DeWitt, who has committed to Indiana, successfully defended his state title in the 100 fly, flying to the top of the podium in 47.07. Plainfield’s Jackson VanWanzeele took second place in 48.72 while Munster’s Grant Afman took a close third in 48.77.

Rollins proved his sprint talent by adding gold in the 100 free to match is 50 free win from earlier in the meet; the junior raced to the wall in 43.84 for the state title. Silver went to Delta’s Braden Samuels in a final time of 44.74 while Hadley grabbed bronze with a time of 44.81.

Mitchell dominated the 500 free to defend his title, winning by 15 seconds in a blistering time of 4:14.68 en route to destroying his own Indiana state record of 4:16.72 and setting a new National Public HS mark in the event. Fishers’ teammates Jackson Carlile (4:25.59) and Aaron Frollo (4:27.93) completed the top three.

Penn’s Joseph Radde (20.86), Aaron Dies (20.24), Joel Cummins (20.95), and Brock Zuyderwyk (20.55) joined forces to win the 4×50 free relay in a combined time of 1:22.60. Fort Wayne Carroll took second in 1:24.02 while Hamilton Southeastern finished third in 1:24.02.

Davis’ second individual gold medal of the day came in the 100 back, where he powered home to a win in 45.80 to crush his own Indiana state record of 46.66 set at this meet last season. Zionsville freshman Will Modglin was second in 47.91 and Oliver was third in 48.53.

It was a tight race in the 100 breast, but Chesterton’s Andrew Alders ultimately got his hands to the wall the quickest in a final time of 54.78. Defending champion Kyle Adams of Munster wound up second in a close 54.78 while Malicki was right behind in 54.92 for third.

Carmel’s Mitchell (44.05), Rothrock (44.58), Hadley (44.53), and Davis (43.20) concluded the meet by winning the 4×100 free relay in 2:56.36, breaking their own state record of 2:58.75 set last year. Zionsville (3:04.36) and Fort Wayne Carroll (3:05.15) rounded out the top three finishers.


Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick