Indiana’s Andrew Capobianco, Minnesota’s Max McHugh Earn Big Ten Postseason Honors

Andrew Capobianco

Indiana diver Andrew Capobianco and Minnesota swimmer Max McHugh were named the men’s Big Ten Conference Diver and Swimmer of the Year, respectively, the league announced Tuesday.

Michigan’s Mike Bottom was named Swimming Coach of the Year. Purdue’s Adam Soldati is the Diving Coach of the Year.

McHugh was a unanimous pick, coming off a storybook NCAAs in which he won the 100 and 200 breaststroke titles. He’s the first Golden Gopher since 1964 to win an NCAA title and the first ever to claim two, adding a pair of Greensboro Aquatic Center pool records to boot. McHugh won both titles at the Big Ten Championships, setting a meet record of 50.19 seconds in the 100 breast.

Capobianco repeated as the men’s 3-meter diving champion at NCAAs. He won the one-meter title at the Big Ten Championships and was fourth at 3-meter, earning co-diver of the meet honors.

“Andrew was amazing this year,” Indiana diving coach Drew Johansen said in a team release. “He continued to improve from the first dive he did at the Big Ten Championships to the last dive he did at NCAAs. There was not an obstacle, or opponent, that was going to stop him.”

Bottom repeats as the Swimming Coach of the Year as his Wolverines won the Big Ten title for the second straight season. It’s the seventh time that Bottom has been the league’s coach of the year, all since 2011. Michigan finished 12th at NCAAs this season with four All-American honorees.

Soldati is the diving coach of the year for the seventh time to go with three honors on the women’s side. He guided Brandon Loschiavo and Ben Bramley to a 1-2 finish on platform at the NCAA Championships. Loschiavo, also the Big Ten champion in the event, is the 13th NCAA champion Soldati has mentored. Greg Duncan also finished fifth on 3-meter at NCAAs, giving the Boilermakers three All-American divers.