Fabio Dalu Becomes First Division II Man Under 15:00 in 1650 on Final Day of GLVC Championships

Photo Courtesy: McKendree Athletics

McKendree sophomore Fabio Dalu became the first man outside of NCAA Division I to break 15:00 in the 1650 in the GLVC Championships as he swam a 14:55.42 to break the NCAA Division II record by five seconds, erasing Mitch Snyder’s 15:00.51 from 2009. The time for Dalu was also a best time after his 15:02 last season. The time also puts Dalu 12th overall in the NCAA, ahead of Notre Dame’s Jack Hoagland (14:59.49).

Drury took home the men’s team title with 1652.5 points over Indianapolis (1546.5), Lindenwood (1393.5), Missouri S&T (1237.5) and McKendree (1120.5).


Dalu also won the 1000 earlier in the meet with an 8:57.35 as the defending national champion just missed the Division II record of 8:56.76 set by Queens’ Alex Kunert in 2019. Dalu also collected wins in the 400 IM (3:47.37) and the 500 free (4:21.03), which is the fastest time in Division II in each.

The GLVC Championships also featured Division II NCAA record holder Karol Ostrowski of Poland, who got beat in the 50 free with a 19.71 to McKendree’s Gregg Lichinsky (19.70). Ostrowski did return to lead off Drury’s winning 200 free relay at 19.68 as the Panthers won at 1:18.66 with Alex Bowen (19.56), Kham Glass (19.88) and Dawid Nowodworski (19.54), while Ostrowski also anchored Drury’s 800 free relay with a 1:35.90. Ostrowski picked up an individual win in the 200 free at 1:34.93.

Lichinsky also got the better of Ostrowski in the 100 free with a 42.57 to Ostrowski’s 42.75. Lichinsky broke his own conference record in the 100 fly with a 46.62, and split a 46.02 butterfly in the Bearcats’ 400 medley relay win at 3:10.74. DaVante Carey (47.57), Henrik Dahrendorff (53.91), Lichinsky (46.02) and Xander Skinner (43.24) put up the top time in the nation in the medley relay.

Ostrowski anchored Drury’s 400 free relay to close the meet with a 42.52 as the Panthers won with a 2:54.23 with Glass (44.44), Ahmed Wahby (44.25) and Alex Brown (43.02) leading the way.

The University of Indianapolis collected a win in the 200 medley relay with a 1:26.68 with Jeron Thompson (21.35), Jan Zuchowicz (24.06), Kael Yorke (21.39) and Victor Antonon Rodriguez (19.88). Thompson took the 100 back win at 47.11 in tying the conference record.

Drury’s Nathan Bighetti and James Brown also won the 200 back (1:43.78) and 200 fly (1:46.61) respectively, while Missouri S&T’s duo of Andy Huffman and Joshua Umrysh won the 200 (1:57.50) and 100 breast (53.54) respectively. Lindenwood’s Matheo Mateos-Magelos won the 200 IM at 1:47.49.

Full Team Scores:

  1. Drury, 1652.5
  2. Indianapolis, 1546.5
  3. Lindenwood, 1393.5
  4. Missouri S&T, 1237.5
  5. McKendree, 1120.5
  6. Lewis, 658
  7. William Jewell, 515.5
  8. Missouri St. Louis, 393
  9. Truman State, 348
  10. Maryville, 184

Women’s Meet

In the women’s meet, Drury won a number of events but Lindenwood used its depth to win the meet overall with 1781 points. Indianapolis was second with 1778 while Drury was third at 1741.

The Lions were led by Beata Maruszczyk who swept the breaststroke events at 1:01.93 and 2:13.72, as she also won the 200 free at 1:48.81 for the only three swimming wins for the team. Lindenwood used its diving depth to beat Drury, who won the majority of the swimming events.

Indianapolis was led by Marizel van Jaarsveld with a win in the 100 free (50.08) and 200 fly (1:59.86) as their diving depth kept them in the meet as well. The Greyhounds won the last relay with a 3:20.70 with Johanna Buys (50.15), Van Jaarsveld (49.90), Leticia Vaselli (50.97) and Krystal Caylor (49.68). The Greyhounds also won the 400 medley relay with a 3:41.22 with Katie McCoy (54.46), Anahi Schreuders (1:02.88), Van Jaarsveld (54.23) and Buys (49.65).

Indianapolis won its duel with Drury in the 800 free relay as well with a 7:23.06 to Drury’s 7:23.56, as Indianapolis swam McCoy (1:50.51), Van Jaarsveld (1:51.41), Binna Traustadottir (1:51.68) and Caylor (1:49.46).

The Drury Panthers did get a couple swimmers to win at least two individual titles in Bec CrossAllison WeberKasia Rogowska and Laura Pareja. Cross actually won three with titles in the 200 IM (1:59.89), 400 IM (4:14.53) and 500 (4:51.65). Weber won the distance events in the 1000 (9:57.33) and the 1650 (16:39.89), and Rogowska won the 50 free (23.06) and 100 fly (54.46).

Pareja swept the backstrokes at 53.13 and 1:58.52 and also led off the 200 medley relay winning team with a 24.89, followed by Lexi Basler (29.11), Rogowska (24.11) and Yasmin Preusse (22.74). Pareja anchored the 200 free relay winning team as well with a 23.05, led off by Mackenzie Wieberg (23.56), Rogowska (23.08) and Preusse (22.85).