Big Ten Swimming Championships Move to Five-Day Format

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The Big Ten championships will have a five-day meet instead of the traditional four-day meet that the conference usually hosts.

The Big Ten diving championships will be held with both genders from February 24 – 27, 2021 at Purdue University, while the women’s swimming-only championships will be the same week at the University of Minnesota — but begin on Feb. 23 — and the men’s swimming-only championships will be March 2 – 6 at The Ohio State University pending official confirmation from the OSU administration. Point totals from the diving championships will be added on to the respective men’s and women’s championship point totals.

Ohio State is the defending champion in the women’s swimming and diving championships, while Michigan is the defending champion on the men’s side, ending Indiana’s three-year winning streak.

More Big Ten news

The meets will begin on Tuesday and run through Saturday as the SEC has done in recent years.

Big Ten Conference Swimming & Diving Remaining 2021 Schedule:

February 5-6

  • Ohio State at Michigan
  • Iowa, Nebraska at Minnesota
  • Michigan State at Penn State
  • Indiana, Rutgers at Purdue
  • Northwestern, Illinois at Wisconsin

February 23-27

  • Men’s and Women’s Diving Championships at Purdue
  • Women’s Swimming Championships at Minnesota

March 2 – 6

  • Big Ten Men’s Swimming Championships at Ohio State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.