TYR Pro Swim Series Fort Lauderdale Day 3 Men’s Finals: Ryan Murphy, Michael Andrew Lead Winners

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The 2023 TYR Pro Swim Series stop in Fort Lauderdale continued with the Day 3 finals from Fort Lauderdale Aquatic Center at the site of the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF).

The events of the evening are the 200 freestyle, 50 breaststroke, 50 butterfly, 200 backstroke and 400 IM.

The meet will run the B finals, followed by the A finals in each events. Following that will be all the C finals in a row.

Here is a look at each event on Day 3:

Men’s 200 Freestyle

Wales swimmer Matthew Richards used a strong move in the final 50 to push past the field and win the 200 freestyle in 1:47.04.

“I have come into this unrested, so we wanted to see where I would be at. I made my underwaters a little more powerful and my stroke smoother. I wanted to make sure I was ahead (coming home),” Richards said. “Racing some of the best guys in the world ahead of British champs in a few weeks.”

U.S. Olympian Kieran Smith got to the wall second in 1:47.36, ahead of Brazil’s Luiz Altamir in 1:47.88, and Shaine Casas, who tied Altamir at 1:47.88.

Trenton Julian was fifth in 1:47.90, followed by Drew Kibler (1:47.94).

Men’s 50 Breaststroke

Michael Andrew was out fast and hung on to win the men’s 50 breast in 27.10.

Nic Fink was just behind at 27.29, followed by Tommy Cope (27.48).

Men’s 50 Butterfly

In another tie, Michael Andrew and Dylan Carter tied to win the 50 fly in 23.33.

Andrew had just swam the 50 breast minutes before.

“This morning, I knew the turnaround would be tighter. This is the way we train. I do a lot of short bursts back-to-back so I knew I could handle it,” Andrew said. “My biggest thing was how I was going to handle the details, so I went no-breath. Coming off training altitude last week, I knew I could handle it. The fly was just everything I had left.”

Shaine Casas was third in 23.48.

The women’s TYR Pro Swim series event was also a tie.

Men’s 200 Backstroke

Ryan Murphy dropped a second from prelims and was in control, leading from start to finish to win the 200 backstroke in 1:56.44.

“It was a good swim. It is always encouraging when training improvements lead to good swims,” Murphy said. “After Christmas, I got into a good groove. I really pushed myself and it showed up.”

Chase Kalisz was second in 1:59.73, followed by his Sun Devils teammate Jay Litherland (2:01.14).

Aidan Norman was fourth (2:01.26),

Men’s 400 IM

Bobby Finke led nearly start to finish, making an early move, then pulling away to win the 400 IM.

He closed in 28.20 and finished in 4:15.93, four seconds ahead of the field.

Canada’s Lorne Wigginton was second (4:19.95), followed by Grant Sanders (4:25.33).

Ilya Kharun and Nathan Holty were disqualified at the TYR Pro Swim Series event.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x