Townley Haas Among Semi-Finalist for AAU Sullivan Award

townley haas
Townley Haas on podium at NCAAs; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Texas senior Townley Haas is among the semi-finalists for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award, which awards the top the amateur athletes each year.

A 15-time Big 12 Champion and 13-time All-American, Haas has earned NCAA National Championships in the last three seasons. In 2018, he took home the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle gold. In 2019, he’s already nabbed gold in the Big 12 in the 200 and 500 again, the fourth straight year in the 200. He also won the 500 free for the third time in his career at NCAAs this past weekend in his home pool. He also was on two winning relays this week at NCAAs, anchoring Texas to wins in the 800 free and 400 free relays to start and end the meet.

In the 200 free, he has the second fastest time in history with a time of 1:29.50 that he set at the 2018 NCAAs. He also holds the NCAA Record in the 500 free of 4:08.19, the second fastest time in history.

A member of the USA Swimming National Team, Haas is also a 2x gold medalist at the 2018 Pan Pacific Championships, winning the individual 200 free and anchoring the 4×200 free relay team. He looks to repeat his Olympic gold from Rio again in 2020 in Tokyo. He was fifth in the 200 free at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio and also swam the fastest leg on the winning 4×200 free relay team in Rio.

Out of the pool, he volunteered time in Texas’ community service program with the Longhorn Halloween event and Orange Santa being among the events.

12 swimmers have won the AAU Sullivan Award in its history that dates back to 1930 with Missy Franklin being the last swimmer to win the award in 2012.

The winner of the award will be announced April 16.

Sullivan Award Winners (Swimming)

  • 1944- Ann Curtis
  • 1964- Don Schollander
  • 1968- Debbie Meyer
  • 1970- John Kinsella
  • 1971- Mark Spitz
  • 1975- Tim Shaw
  • 1977- John Naber
  • 1978- Tracy Caulkins
  • 1989- Janet Evans
  • 2003- Michael Phelps
  • 2006- Jessica Long
  • 2012- Missy Franklin
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago