Stanford Women, Ohio State Men Win OSU Invite

Photo Courtesy: Dan D'Addona

The No.3 Stanford women won the Ohio State Invitational on Saturday.

The Cardinal won with 2,499 points, followed by Notre Dame (2,011.5), Kentucky (1,898), Ohio State (1,849), Yale (1,175.5), Putt (953.5), Ohio (605), West Virginia (532.5) and Kenyon (486) in the 13-team event.

Stanford’s Ella Eastin won the 200 fly in 1:52.07, going 1-2 with teammate Katie Drabot (1:53.39).

Megan Byrnes (15:55.57) and Leah Stevens (16:02.66) went 1-2 in the 1650 free.

Amalie Fackenthal, Eastin, Ashley Volpenhein and Taylor Ruck won the 400 free relay (3:12.08).

Kentucky’s Asia Seidt won the 200 back (1:49.35) ahead of Ruck (1:51.83) and Wildcat teammate Ali Galyer (1:51.92).

Kentucky’s Bailey Bonnett won the 200 breast (2:08.31), followed by six Stanford swimmers — Zoe Bartel (2:08.65), Brooke Forde (2:09.54), Grace Zhao (2:10.35), Allie Raab (2:10.53), Allie Szekely (2:12.01) and Kim Williams (2:12.09).

Yale’s Bella Hindley won the 100 free (48.51).

In platform diving, Ohio State’s Lara Tarvit claimed gold for the women’s team, posting a score of 265.35 which is a new season-high. Lexie Barker earned silver with a point total of 259.15.

In the men’s meet, Ohio State won with 2,653, followed by Notre Dame (2,188), Kentucky (1,952.5), Pitt (15,13.5), Yale (1,483.5), West Virginia (959), Kenyon (568.5) and Stanford (127).

Ohio State diving Jacob Siler was the winner on the men’s team, recording a score of 368.90, a season-high. The Buckeyes went 4-5-6 next with Jacob Fielding (353.10), Joseph Canova (340.75) and Aaron Daniels-Freeman (330.10) in order.

Ohio State’s Jason Mathews won the 200 breast in 1:55.96.

Notre Dame’s Jack Montesi won in 1:43.74. Aaron Schultz won the 200 butterfly (1:42.90) ahead of West Virginia’s David Dixon (1:42.95).

Kentucky’s Peter Wetzlar, Glen Brown, Jason Head and John Mitchell won in 2:52.23.

1 comment