Records from Adam Chaney, Jean-Pierre Khouzam as St. Xavier Wins 12th-Straight Ohio Boys DI States

st xavier ohio
Photo Courtesy: Ohio High School Athletic Association Twitter (@OHSAASports)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 Ohio Boys DI State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on Saturday, Feb. 22 at the C. T. Branin Natatorium in Canton, Ohio.

A total of four Ohio state records were broken at this meet:

  • St. Xavier – 4×50 medley relay (1:27.97)
  • Mason’s Adam Chaney – 50 free (19.62)
  • St. Xavier’s Jean-Pierre Khouzam – 100 fly (47.01)
  • St. Xavier – 4×50 free relay (1:20.86)

St. Xavier broke three state records and swept the relays to secure their 12th-consecutive championship crown with a total of 310 points. This marks their 41st state title in program history, the most of any high school sport in Ohio. The Aqua Bombers used their impressive depth to finish over 100 points ahead of Upper Arlington (201) and Mason (190).

Click HERE for full results and team scores.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. St. Xavier – 310
2. Upper Arlington – 201
3. Mason – 190
4. Beavercreek – 136.5
5. St. Ignatius – 132

St. Xavier began their winning ways as Nate Buse (22.66), Scott Sobolewski (24.57), Jean-Pierre Khouzam (20.75), and Owen Taylor won the opening 4×50 medley relay in 1:27.97 to break Sycamore’s Ohio state record of 1:28.48 set last season. St. Ignatius took a distance second in 1:31.45 and Mason finished third in 1:31.53 after Chaney’s 21.99 lead-off split.

Lakota East’s Jacob McDonald, who has committed to Tennessee, led the charge in the 200 free after stopping the clock in 1:37.62. Loveland’s Brandon Day finished second in 1:38.78 while Upper Arlington’s Hayden Jay also cracked the 1:40-marker in 1:39.33 for third.

St. Ignatius junior Tyler Hong won a tight 200 IM race by only three-tenths, touching the wall in 1:47.26 for the state title. Michigan commit Ansel Froass took a very close second in 1:47.55 while St. Xavier’s Ian Van Gorp a Buckeye commit – finished third with a time of 1:48.82.

For the third-straight season, Chaney won the 50 free in record-setting fashion. His winning time of 19.62 eclipsed his own Ohio state record of 19.64 he set at this meet last season. Walnut Hills’ Aaron Sequeira also cracked 20-seconds in 19.99 for second and Upper Arlington’s Avery Voss finished third in 20.27.

Khouzam, who has committed to Ohio State, successfully defended his 100 fly state title with a time of 47.01 en route to eclipsing Austin Staab’s overall state record of 47.10. Mason’s Carl Bloebaum flew to the silver medal in 48.58 while Buse took third in 48.71.

Soon-to-be Florida Gator Chaney solidified his sprint talent by also winning the 100 free state title for the third season in a row. His winning time of 43.93 was just off his Ohio state mark of 43.27 he posted last season. Voss raced to the runner-up spot on 44.51 and 44.94 was fast enough for future Louisville Cardinal Taylor to take third.

Shortly after winning the 200 free, McDonald was back in the pool to win the 500 free in a final time of 4:22.75 – just off his prelims time of 4:21.05. St. Xavier’s Kellyn Roddy (4:26.66) and Beavercreek’s Nate Holty (4:31.74) finished second and third, respectively.

St. Xavier’s Khouzam (20.39), Buse (20.23), Van Gorp (20.55), and Taylor (19.69) won the 4×50 free relay in a time of 1:20.86 to break the state record of 1:21.44 they set in 2017. Thanks to Chaney’s blazing 19.13 anchor split, Mason took third in 1:21.11 and Powell Olentangy Liberty was third in 1:22.81.

Stanford commit Sequeria, who was the 100 back runner-up a season ago, found himself on top of the podium this year after powering to the wall in 47.02 for the win. Hoover’s Christopher O’Connor raced to the silver medal in 47.79 and Hong grabbed bronze in 47.89.

Brecksville’s Peter Krusinki, who is off to Ohio State this fall, won the 100 breast by getting his hands to the wall the fastest in 54.27. Future USC Trojan Sobolewski finished second in 54.89 while Upper Arlington’s Jake Meyer wound up third with a time of 55.25.

St. Xavier made it a relay sweep and secured the team title as the quartet of Khouzam (44.10), Sobolewski (45.30), Van Gorp (45.42), and Taylor (44.48) won the 4×100 free relay in 2:59.30. Upper Arlington was second in 3:02.91 and Beavercreek took third in 3:03.69.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Congratulations guys great job

3 years ago

Congrats Coach Beerman and Brower!

3 years ago

Owen Taylor anchored St. X’s 200 free relay in 19.69. Adam Chaney anchored Mason’s.