Olympic Swimming Heat Sheets Available For Night Seven Of Competition

Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports


Editorial Coverage Sponsored By FINIS

Full heat sheets for the seventh night of semifinals and finals action are available here. Check out Swimming World’s predictions here.

The seventh night of competition will get off to a quick start with the men diving in for finals of the 50-meter free. Reigning Olympic Champion Florent Manaudou is seeded first in lane four, but is flocked by Anthony Ervin and Andrii Govorov who delivered matching times of 21.46 in semi-finals. Nathan Adrian, Bruno Fratus, and Ben Proud will also be among the eight looking for medal opportunities.

The night will then switch gears as the women prepare for finals of the 800 free. World Record holder and reigning Olympic Champion Katie Ledecky will be in a race of her own, as she enters seeded close to seven full seconds ahead of the competition. Ledecky lowered the Olympic Record to a 8:12.86 in prelims, but holds the World Record at a 8:06.68. The race for second and third will be on as Jazz Carlin, Boglarka Kapas, and Leah Smith highlight the center of the pool.

The GOAT will swim in his final individual event of the 2016 Rio Olympic Games as the men’s 100 fly takes center stage next. Seeded fifth and in lane 2, Michael Phelps could have his work cut out for him as Joseph Schooling, Chad le Clos, Laszlo Cseh, and Li Zhuhao will put forth some wonderful competition.

Katinka Hosszu could very well grab her fourth individual gold medal of the Rio Olympic Games in finals of the women’s 200 back, as she enters seeded more than a second ahead of Hilary Caldwell.

The individual events will conclude with semi-finals of the women’s 50 free. Pernille Blume leads the competitors after a 24.23 in prelims, but as the swimming community learned last night in the women’s 100 free final, anything can happen in a sprint. Cate and Bronte Campbell will look for redemption, but will have to hold off the likes of Ranomi Kromowidjojo, Simone Manuel, Francesca Halsall, and Jeanette Ottesen.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial