Norway Long Course Championships: Cecilie Johannessen Downs Longstanding Norwegian Mark

DRAMMEN, Norway, July 12. THE Norway Long Course Championships came to a close on the fourth day of action with two more national records going into the ledger.

Cecilie Johannessen became the first Norwegian woman to ever crack 56 seconds in the women's 100 free with a national-record time of 55.99. That performance eclipsed the 56.06 set by Vibeke Johansen way back in 1996. Henriette Brekke placed second in 56.78, while Susann Bjornsen earned third in 56.92.

Lavrans Solli, who earlier set the national record in the men's 50 back, gave the 100 back record a run with a 56.97 for the victory. He missed Tom Karlsen's 1999 record of 56.45. Runar Borgen finished second in 1:00.47, while Christian Christiansen placed third in 1:00.83.

Lars Andre Tolas, Alexander Dale Oen, Oystein Hetland and Aleksander Hetland closed the meet with a national record in the men's 400 medley relay. The foursome clocked a 3:47.23 for the triumph.

Christine Pedersen topped the women's 200 back in 2:20.44, while Veronia Orheim Bjorlykke took second in 2:22.02. Gina Andersen finished third in 2:22.38.

Aleksander Hetland snared the men's 50 free crown in 23.37, while Oystein Hetland touched second in 23.76. Gard Kvale wound up third in 23.77. Kvale turned around and won the men's 800 free in 8:26.79. Morten Bordervich (8:27.86) and Oscar Slaatmo (8:27.90) placed second and third.

Sindri Jakobsson won the women's 200 fly in 2:03.29, while Alexander Broberg Skeltved placed second in 2:07.91. Jorgen Mollerop picked up third-place honors in 2:08.69.

Sara Nordenstam captured the women's 200 breast title in 2:28.12. Stina Kajsa Colleou (2:35.48) and Luna Elisabeth Sogaard (2:40.66) completed the podium in the event.

Ingvild Snildal pocketed the women's 50 fly title in 27.04 with Katharina Stiberg placing second in 27.21. Bryndis Run Hansen hit the wall third in 27.85.

Erin Slaatmo stopped the clock in 17:04.04 to win the women's 1500 free. Karoline Pedersen (17:22.25) and Oda Gjerde (17:27.06) placed second and third.