Gold Medal Tonnage to Reign Supreme at International Swimming Hall of Fame Ceremonies

FT. LAUDERDALE, Florida. May 9. THERE will be plenty of Olympic Gold medals floating around the annual International Swimming Hall of Fame induction Ceremonies, May 13, at the Greater Ft. Lauderdale Broward County Convention Center according to Bruce Wigo, president and chief executive officer of the hall of fame.

New to the list of star-studded U.S. Olympic Gold Medal winners is Aaron Peirsol, world record holder in the 200 meter backstroke and winner of three Gold medals in the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens.

He will present the World Swimming Coaches Association Outstanding Coach of the Year Award to Eddie Reese, University of Texas coach who tutored Peirsol.

Tom Dolan, a swimmer who overcame the effects of asthma to become a world record holder and Gold Medal Olympic champion, heads a contingent of 10 great athletes that will be inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame..

Also being inducted with Dolan are: Joe Bottom, USA Olympic silver medal winner from 1976; Flip Darr, USA coach from the 1970s; Jane Asher, honor swimmer from Great Britain; Carlos Dibiasi, pioneer diving coach from Italy; Igor Milanovic, Yugoslavia polo player; Susan O’Neil, honor swimmer from Australia; Kieren Perkins, honor swimmer from Australia; Alison Streeter, open water swimmer from Great Britain; Xiong Ni, three-time Olympic gold medalist from China.

Among the Gold Medal winners who will be on hand are Dr. Sammy Lee (1948 & 1952), Vicki Draves (1948), Pat McCormick (1952 & 1956), Bob Clotworthy (1956), Donna DeVarona, (1964), Gary Hall, Sr. (1968, 1972 & 1976), Micki King (1968), Klaus Dibiasi (1968, ’72 & 76), John Naber (1976) Mary T. Plant (Meagher – 1984), Tiffany Cohen (1984) and Greg Louganis (1984 & 1988), Gary Hall, Jr. (1996, 2000 & 2004).

The10 honorees will be joined by two others who are being recognized for their contributions in aquatic sports: Bud Greenspan, who has chronicled Olympics with award-winning documentaries, and Jim Press, Chief Operating Officer of Toyota Motor Sales, USA, who is well-known as a Masters Swimmer. He will be competing in the Masters Championships in Coral Spring the week of the ISOHF induction ceremonies.

Since ISHOF was founded in 1965, more than 600 athletes, athletes and contributors to water sports from 34 different nations representing the sports of swimming, diving, water polo, synchronized swimming, open water swimming — and lifesaving.

The International Swimming Hall of Fame induction caps three days of activities ranging from receptions to Australia Day to the world premier of “Freedom Fury”, a documentary film about the 1956 Olympic water polo match between Hungary and the Soviet Union known as the “blood game” with the Hungarian Revolution as the back drop.

Tickets for the International Swimming Hall of Fame activities range from sponsorship levels of $10,000 to $500 for the induction ceremony down to $200 to $45 for ticket packages to selected events. For additional information, call the International Swimming Hall of Fame at 954 462-6536.