Four National Titles Won on Final Day of USA Diving Winter Nationals

AUSTIN, Texas, December 22. THE 2013 USA Diving Winter National Championships came to a close Sunday with four more national titles awarded at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center. Maren Taylor (Arlington, Va./Austin, Texas) won the women’s 3-meter title, and Steele Johnson (Carmel, Ind.) took the men’s 10-meter gold. David Boudia (Noblesville, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.) and Sam Dorman (Tempe, Ariz./Coral Gables, Fla.) took first in men’s synchronized 3-meter, and Anna James (Midland, Texas) and Jessica Parratto (Dover, N.H./Bloomington, Ind.) won women’s synchronized 10-meter.

With their wins, Johnson and Taylor qualified to represent the United States at the 2014 FINA World Cup, the top international meet next season. The top two individual finishers on 3-meter and 10-meter who also meet minimum score and degree of difficulty requirements are selected to the team. David Dinsmore (New Albany, Ohio) won the silver medal on 10-meter to earn a World Cup berth, and Laura Ryan (Elk River, Minn./Athens, Ga.) finished fourth on 3-meter to earn the second World Cup spot on that event (the second and third place finishers did not meet the degree of difficulty requirements). Synchronized teams for the World Cup will be selected at a separate trial in April.

Johnson captured his third individual 10-meter national title with 1469.70 points over three lists of dives. He scored more than 80 points on five of six dives in the finals, with his reverse 3 ? tuck earning six 10s for 102 points in round five of the finals.

“I just shut my brain off before competition and let whatever happened happen,” Johnson said. “I’ve been practicing like I’m in a competition so that when it comes time to compete, it just feels like another practice. I had a lot of fun out there today.”

Dinsmore, who won the synchronized 10-meter title with Johnson on Saturday, scored 1240.60 points to edge bronze medalist Toby Stanley (Conway, Ark.) by four points for the silver medal. Dinsmore was in fourth place heading into the final round before coming up with his best dive of the day. His back 2 ? with 1 ? earned three 10s and 92.80 points to move him up to second ahead of Stanley and Zach Cooper (Greenwood, Ind.), who finished fourth with 1224.00 points.

Taylor won her second national title in two days, having won the synchronized 3-meter title Saturday. In the individual final, Taylor finished with 923.90 points to win her first individual title and a spot on the World Cup team.

“(Making the World Cup team individually) was my biggest goal for this meet coming off this last summer. I know I’ve been improving and I keep getting better and better, but I’ve been having some trouble with nerves. I was glad to see I conquered that at this meet and had a solid performance. I was consistent in each round, and I was happy I was able to do that,” Taylor said.

Casey Matthews (Getzville, N.Y./West Lafayette, Ind.) scored 907.75 points for silver, with Emma Ivory-Ganja (The Woodlands, Texas/Austin, Texas) taking bronze at 882.30. Ryan finished fourth with 879.90 points.

Dorman picked up two medals in men’s synchronized 3-meter, winning both the gold and silver. He and Boudia scored 799.77 over two lists of dives to take the gold, while Dorman and Darian Schmidt (Bloomington, Ind.) finished second with 778.95 points. Dwight Dumais (Ventura, Calif./Austin, Texas) and Aaron Fleshner (Spring, Texas/Tuscaloosa, Ala.) scored 763.83 points for bronze.

A day after winning silver and bronze individually on 10-meter, James and Parratto won the gold in synchronized 10-meter with 610.56 points over two list of dives. Samantha “Murphy” Bromberg (Bexley, Ohio) and Cheyenne Cousineau (Temperance, Mich./Coral Gables, Fla.) were second with 569.61 points.

The University of Texas won the overall team title as well as the men’s team title. The University of Miami won the women’s team title. Miami’s Kara McCormack (Austin, Texas/Coral Gables, Fla.) won the women’s high point award. She advanced to the finals in all three individual events and finished seventh on 10-meter and eighth on 1-meter and 3-meter. She also was eighth in synchronized 3-meter. Fleshner, who won the men’s 1-meter gold, was the men’s high point award winner.

Synchronized Women’s 10-meter
1. Jessica Parratto, Indiana University, 610.56;1. Anna James, City of Midland, 610.56;2. Samantha Bromberg, The University of Texas, 569.61;2. Cheyenne Cousineau, University of Miami, 569.61;

Synchronized Men’s 3-meter
1.Samuel Dorman, University of Miami, 799.77;1. David Boudia, Boiler Diving Academy, 799.77;2. Samuel Dorman, University of Miami, 778.95;2. Darian Schmidt, Unattached, 778.95;3. Dwight Dumais, Longhorn Aquatics, 763.83;3. Aaron Fleshner, Alabama Diving, 763.83;4. Cory Bowersox, The University of Texas, 752.88;4. Will Chandler, The University of Texas, 752.88;5. Michael Hixon, The University of Texas, 752.07;5. Darian Schmidt, Unattached, 752.07;6. Dwight Dumais, Longhorn Aquatics, 751.53;6. Bryce Klein, Unattached, 751.53;7. Mark Anderson, The University of Texas, 749.31;7. Dashiell Enos, Trojan Dive Club, 749.31;8. David Bonuchi, Unattached, 737.01;8. Connor Kuremsky, Unattached, 737.01;9. Michael Mosca, Harvard Diving, 706.44;9. Jack Nyquist, North Carolina Diving, 706.44;10. William McCraney, The University of Texas, 688.53;10. Sean Obrien, The University of Texas, 688.53;11. Connor Kuremsky, Unattached, 680.70;11. Bradley Christensen, Unattached, 680.70;12. Finn Scribbi ck, San Antonio Divers, 679.02;12. Christopher Law, Unattached, 679.02

Women’s 3-meter
1. Maren Taylor, The University of Texas, 923.90;2. Casey Matthews, Purdue University, 907.75;3. Emma Ivory-Ganja, The University of Texas, 882.30;4. Laura Ryan, Unattached, 879.80;5. Kelsey Goodman, Florida State University Diving Team, 827.75;6. Amanda Burke, Unattached, 824.20;7. Thea Vock, University of Miami, 817.45;8. Kara Mccormack, University of Miami, 808.95;9. Cassie Weil, Unattached, 803.30;10. Michelle Cabassol, Purdue University, 799.35;11. Kelli Stockton, H2okie Aquatics, 778.45;12. Tarrin Gilliland, Longhorn Aquatics, 766.70

Men’s 10-meter
1. Steele Johnson, Boiler Diving Academy, 1469.70;2. David Dinsmore, Ohio State Diving Club, 1240.60;3. Toby Stanley, Unattached, 1236.60;4. Zachary Cooper, Unattached, 1224.00;5. Tanner Wilfong, University of Miami, 1223.55;6. Sean Mokhtari, Purdue University, 1160.50;7. Rafael Quintero, Unattached, 1108.00;8. Mark Anderson, The University of Texas, 1079.60;9. Dominic Giordano, Florida State University Diving Team, 1069.75;10. Ford McLiney, Unattached, 1035.75;11. Christopher Law, Unattached, 1010.00;12. Ryan Hawkins, H2okie Aquatics, 980.55

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on Four National Titles Won on Final Day of USA Diving Winter Nationals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here