Evergreen Collects Colorado Girls 3A State Title; Davy Brown, Remi Gucker Win Three Golds Each

evergreen colorado
Photo Courtesy: Sara Hertwig

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on SwimmingWorld.com. For more information about Agon, visit their website?AgonSwim.com.?National Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2019 Colorado High School Girls 3A State Championships took place at the Edora Pool Ice Center (EPIC) in Fort Collins, Colo. on Saturday, Feb. 9.

Evergreen won three events and used their impressive depth to dominate the team points, finishing with a final score of 428 ahead of Pueblo County (297) and Kent Denver (279). Aspen’s Davy Brown and Evergreen’s Remi Gucker each earned two individual gold medals and help their relay team to victory.

Click here for full results.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Evergreen – 428
2. Pueblo County – 297
3. Kent Denver – 279
4. Aspen – 241
5. Glenwood Springs – 197

Pueblo County defended their state title in the 4×50 medley relay to begin an exciting meet. Consisting of Kandi Liberato (27.92), Amanda Blickensderfer (29.44), Anna Maruello (27.12) and Alex Musso (24.66), they started the meet strong with a time of 1:49.14, less than a second off their own 3A state record in the event. Evergreen (1:50.69) and Aspen (1:52.26) followed closely behind.

Remi Gucker of Evergreen secured first in the 200 free with a time of 1:55.30. Elise Mishmash of Salida finished just half a second behind Gucker in the 200 with a time of 1:55.86. Kent Denver freshman Ainsley Nalen placed third with a time of 1:58.31.

Gucker gained another state title to add to her hardware in the 500 free with a time of 5:10.84, nearly eight seconds before second-place finisher Ava Giesbrecht (5:18.11) of Discovery Canyon and Caitlin Beery (5:19.31) of Thomas Jefferson.

Mishmash also secured a first place finish in the 100 free with a time of 53.57, followed by Evergreen’s Christina Crane (53.97) in second and Colorado Academy High School’s Aly Gallagher (54.30) in third.

Aspen’s Davy Brown won the gold medal in the 200 IM by two full seconds, touching the wall in 2:08.65. Maggie McDonald of Evergreen splashed into second, dropping three seconds from her prelims time with a finish of 2:10.61. Jamie Dellwardt of Berthoud also shaved off a significant amount of time to win the bronze, powering through her prelims’ 2:16.20 to a final time of 2:12.06.

Last year’s 50 freestyle champion Caitlin Cairns of Saint Mary’s secured second place in this year’s sprint event with a time of 24.43. Erie’s Payten Irwin achieved first with a time of 24.32, while Gallagher finishing third with a time of 24.91.

It was deja-vu on the podium in the 100 fly as Irwin and Cairns again finished first and second, respectively, in the 100 fly: Irwin clocked in at 55.58 while Cairns obtained a time of 56.56. Blickensderfer, last year’s top finisher, secured a podium spot again with a time of 57.87.

In 1-meter diving, Discovery Canyon’s Rachel Alexander dove to first with a score of 424.90 to win the gold. Kent Denver’s Campbell Patteson dove into second place with a score of 419.50 and Jackie Fritsche of Evergreen accomplished third after scoring 403.10 points.

Aspen was less than a second off of Colorado’s 3A record with a time of 1:40.46, consisting of Brown (24.53), Emily Kinney (25.73), Laila Khan-Farooqi (25.34) and Kayla Tehrani (24.86). Pueblo County finished second with a 1:40.60 while Kent Denver finished third in 1:42.63.

Brown’s third gold medal of the night was scored in the 100 backstroke with a time of 57.58. Sophomores Dellwardt and Liberato finished second and third, with times of 58.21 and 59.41 respectively.

Seniors swept the 100 breast, taking first through fourth place. La Junta’s Emily Moreland touched first with a time of 1:06.05, followed by Crane (1:06.17) in second, Manutou’s Sydney Dolloff-Holt (1:07.28) in third and Blickensderfer (1:07.62) in fourth.

The meet concluded as Evergreen’s 4×100 free relay lineup – consisting of Gucker (54.94), Maggie McDonald (56.25), Hope Atkins (54.84) and Crane (53.28) – dropped four seconds from their morning time to win finals with a time of 3:39.31. Kent Denver clocked in second with a time of 3:42.67 followed by Glenwood Springs with a time of 3:47.99.