Club Wolverine Dominates During Day Two of Charlotte UltraSwim

CHARLOTTE, N.C., June 9. CLUB Wolverine amassed an impressive haul of hardware during the second day of competition at the Charlotte UltraSwim held at the Mecklenburg County Aquatics Center in Charlotte, N.C., on Friday. Additionally, Katie Hoff continued her preeminence at the second stop of the USA Swimming Grand Prix series.

The UltraSwim is the latest tuneup for this summer’s United States Nationals in Irvine, Calif. That meet will serve as the selection competition for the Pan Pacific Championships and also will influence the selection of the U.S. squad for the 2007 World Champs in Melbourne.

Women’s 200-meter freestyle

The women started off the evening right with five Olympic Trials cuts in the 200-meter freestyle competition. North Baltimore’s Katie Hoff made it two-for-two after claiming the 800-meter freestyle crown last night. The Towson, Md., native cruised to a meet-record time of 1:58.24, while Athens Bulldog Kara Lynn Joyce clocked a second-place time of 2:01.81.

Additionally, California’s Erin Reilly placed third in 2:01.95, while Lakeside’s Rachel Komisarz snared fourth in 2:02.16. Meanwhile, Athens Bulldog Mary DeScenza rounded out the Olympic Trials cuts in the event with a fifth place 2:02.38.

Three other swimmers snared National cuts during the event as Club Wolverine’s Lindsay Smith clocked a sixth-place 2:03.71, while California’s Emily Silver placed ninth in 2:03.62. Tampa Bay’s Chelsea Nauta also cleared the National mark with a 10th-place 2:03.75.

Notably, six other swimmers picked up Junior National cuts during finals and prelims.

Men’s 200-meter freestyle

Club Wolverine dominated the 200-meter freestyle for the men as Michael Phelps touched in a meet-record time of 1:48.88. Teammates Peter Vanderkaay (1:49.46), Klete Keller (1:49.93) and Davis Tarwater (1:51.38) rounded out the top four with Olympic Trials cuts of their own, while Daytona Beach’s Ryan Lochte (1:51.65) and YMCA Triangle’s Charlie Houchin (1:52.49) also qualified for Olympic Trials in the event.

In a fast backend of the championship final, Mecklenburg’s Ricky Berens finished seventh in a National cut of 1:53.55, while Club Wolverine’s Matt Patton placed eighth in a National cut of 1:53.56.

Additionally, 11 other swimmers eclipsed the Junior National threshold.

Women’s 100-meter breaststroke

Meet records continued to fall as California’s Jessica Hardy downed Kristy Kowal’s standard set in the 100-meter breaststroke in 2000 by touching in 1:08.07. Additionally, Vipa Bernhardt took second in 1:11.47, while Raleigh’s Melani Roberts posted a third-place 1:12.43.

In the consolation final, Tallahassee’s Georgia Holderness posted a National cut with a 1:12.90. Meanwhile, five swimmers registered Junior National times.

Men’s 100-meter breaststroke

The assault on meet records subsided in the men’s 100-meter breaststroke as Auburn Aquatics’ Mark Gangloff captured the title in an Olympic Trial time of 1:02.51 to dominate the field. Dan Velez came in a distant second with a National cut of 1:05.29, while Indiana’s Kevin Swander finished third in a National cut time of 1:05.40. A pair of Club Wolverine swimmers closed out the National cuts in the event as Jamie Barone (1:05.41) took fourth and Grant Burch (1:05.49) placed fifth.

Meanwhile, seven other swimmers recorded Junior National cuts.

Women’s 100-meter butterfly

As one streak came to an end, Komisarz stopped Hoff’s stranglehold on UltraSwim gold as Komisarz closed out the 100-meter butterfly title with a 1:00.20 against Hoff’s second-place 1:00.69. Meanwhile, DeScenza concluded the top three and Olympic Trials cuts in the event with a third-place 1:00.92.

Meanwhile, Hershey’s Katie Nolan (1:02.46) and Club Wolverine’s Melissa Jaeger (1:02.85) eclipsed the National threshold for fourth and fifth, respectively. In the bonus consolation heat, California’s Erin Reilly touched in a National cut time of her own in 1:02.56. Additionally, 11 other swimmers copped Junior National times.

Men’s 100-meter butterfly

A quintet of swimmers went under the Olympic Trials cut in the 100-meter butterfly as Phelps steamrolled the meet record with a 52.90. Berens claimed second in 54.28, while Tarwater picked up third in 54.45. Coast Guard’s Peter Verhoef followed with a fourth-place 54.63, while Bluefish’s David Russell took fifth in 55.48.

Fifteen other swimmers clocked Junior National cuts in the 100 fly.

Women’s 400-meter IM

In what would either be the most incredible set of coincidences in swimming history, or a mistake in reporting ties, the championship final and consolation final of the 400-meter IM clocked identical times as posted by the Mecklenburg County Aquatics Center. Auburn Aquatics' Lauren Duerk, however, wound up winning the event in a potential Olympic cut time of 4:50.52.

Men’s 400-meter IM

Another quartet of swimmers posted Olympic Trials times in the 400-meter IM as Club Wolverine’s Erik Vendt blazed to a 4:19.62, while Lochte snared second in 4:25.58. Meanwhile, SwimAtlanta’s Andre Callahan took third in 4:29.17, while Pat Mellors finished fourth in 4:29.54.

Moreover, Houchin swam in with a National cut of 4:34.27, while Lucas Salatta placed ninth in a National time of 4:32.48. Additionally, 10 other swimmers posted Junior National cuts.

Women’s 400-meter freestyle relay

A pair of contingents rolled to National cuts in the 400-meter freestyle relay. The Athens Bulldog squad of Jessica Cole, Maritza Correia, DeScenza and Joyce claimed gold in 3:49.60, while Club Wolverine’s Lindsey Smith, Katie Carroll, Hannah Smith and Payton Johnson finished second in 3:53.82. Additionally, SwimAtlanta’s Claire Maust, Abigail Alton, Aileen Cole and Amanda Weir rounded out the podium with a third-place 3:59.30.

Men’s 400-meter freestyle relay

Club Wolverine capped a successful evening with another triumph as Phelps, Peter Vanderkaay, Tarwater and Keller clocked a solid 3:24.44, while its B team of Bobby Savulich, Curtis Dauw, Evan Ryser and Alex Vanderkaay touched in 3:31.53. Furthermore, Area Tallahassee’s team of Alex Kennon, Joe Ziegler, Jarryd Botha and Ian Powell closed out the top-three with a National cut time of 3:33.39.