Brookfield East Breaks Medley Relay Record to Win First-Ever Wisconsin Girls DI State Title

brookfield east
Photo Courtesy: WIAA State Tournaments Twitter (@wiaawistate)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Following the DII meet yesterday, the 2019 Wisconsin Girls Division I State Swimming & Diving Championships took place on Nov. 16 at the University of Wisconsin natatorium in Madison.

After placing fifth just a year ago, Brookfield East secured their first State title in program history. The Spartans broke a 14-year-old Wisconsin DI state record in the 4×50 medley relay (1:42.71) to earn a total of 243 points ahead of Arrowhead (220) and Sun Prairie (212.5).

Click HERE for full results and final team scores.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Brookfield East – 243
2. Arrowhead – 220
3. Sun Prairie – 212.5
4. Muskego – 192
5. Waukesha South/Mukwanago – 146

Brookfield East began their winning ways as Abby Wanezak (24.95), Lucy Thomas (28.53), Reilly Tiltmann (24.41), and Callie Gregg (24.65) opened the meet as 4×50 medley relay champions in a combined time of 1:42.54. Their time not only won the event by three seconds, but also eclipsed the former DI state record of 1:42.71 set in 2005.

It was a 1-2 punch for Brookefield East in the 100 back: Tiltmann, a future Virginia Cavalier, successfully defended her title in 52.88 while Wanezak raced to second in 54.46. Their teammate Thomas, who’s only a freshman, earned her first individual state title after getting her hands to the wall in 1:02.33 for the 100 breast victory.

Waukesha South/Mukwanago’s Abby Carlson led the charge in the 200 free as the first of only three swimmers in the field to dip under the 1:50 barrier, winning the event in 1:49.21 to hold off a charging Cassie Stegner (1:49.58) of Menomonee Falls/Hamilton. Neenah’s Av Osero dominated the 1-meter board with a total score of 498.15.

After finishing second in the 200 IM last year, Bay Port’s Emma Lasecki found herself on top of the podium this season after winning the event by two seconds in a final time of 2:00.66. Lasecki then flew to the top of the podium in the 100 fly, getting her hands to the wall first in 54.21 to edge out last year’s champion Tiltmann (54.28).

Sun Prairie’s Sophie Fiske splashed and dashed her way to a state title in the 50 free for the second-straight year, stopping the clock in a swift 22.93 as the only athlete in the race to crack 23 seconds. The junior proved her sprint prowess by also winning the 100 free, dipping under the 50-second barrier to take gold in 49.82.

Arrowhead’s Sydney Stoll was the first of fastest three swimmers to break five minutes in the 500 free, using consistent splits to earn the gold medal in 4:54.85. After winning the 200 free, Carlson, who has verbally committed to the Badgers, took a very close second in 4:54.90.

Sun Prairie’s Paige Rundahl (24.56), Hannah Marshall (24.22), Grace Sala (23.99), and Fiske (22.43) won the 4×50 free relay by nearly a full second in 1:35.20. Bree Moericke (53.21), Sala (52.51), Janelle Schulz (51.03), and Fiske (49.11) concluded the meet by giving Sun Prairie the 4×100 free relay win in a final time of 3:25.86.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x