Big Ten Weekly Recap: Indiana Splits With Notre Dame; Divers Shine in Minnesota

Blake Pieroni Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

By Dan D’Addona.

It was an all-out battle for pride in the state of Indiana. In the end both teams were impressive and came away with split victories.

The No. 1-ranked Indiana men’s team (6-0) extended its win streak to 19 after defeating No. 13 Notre Dame, 146-95, and Cincinnati, 146-95. The No. 9-ranked Hoosier women’s team (3-3) beat Cincinnati, 190-53, but were edged by No. 18 Notre Dame, 123-120.

Three Hoosier swimmers won two individual events on the day, with Blake Pieroni, Lilly King and Ali Rockett pacing the Indiana effort.

Pieroni continued his strong start to the season, posting NCAA “B” cut times in wins in the 100 freestyle (43.17) and 200 IM (1:47.07).

King added two more wins to her season on Thursday, winning the 100 breaststroke with a NCAA “B” cut time of 1:00.28 and the 200 IM with a mark of 2:02.31. Rockett won the 100 back with a NCAA “B” cut time of 53.55 and the 50 freestyle with a season-best mark of 23.17.

Mohamed Samy won the 200 freestyle with a NCAA “B” cut of 1:37.71, while Vini Lanza touched first in the 100 butterfly with a NCAA “B” cut of 47.48. Ian Finnerty continued his dominance in the 100 breast, winning with a NCAA “B” cut mark of 54.99.

On the women’s side, Kennedy Goss won the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:50.59 and then earned a NCAA “B” cut, placing second in the 200 free with a time of 1:47.99.

Christine Jensen tied for first in the 100 butterfly, touching the wall with a season-best time and NCAA “B” cut of 54.27.

In the diving well, Jessica Parratto and Michael Hixon were dominant, sweeping the diving events for the Hoosiers with NCAA Zones qualifying scores.\

For Notre Dame, Zachary Yeadon was a double-winner in both the 500 free (4:26.24) and 1000 free (9:05.21) events. Daniel Speers added a win in the 50 free, swimming a season-best time in competition of 20.22 for the race victory. Jack Montesi paced a 1-2 Notre Dame (5-2) finish in the 100 back by touching the wall in 49.16.

The Notre Dame (6-1) women were led by Abbie Dolan, who helped the the Irish claimed the top-four spots in the 100 free, as the Notre Dame sophomore posted a 49.30 time for the race victory. Dolan was a double-winner individually after adding a title in the 200 free, notching a season-best with a time of 1:45.94. Erin Sheehan claimed a share of the top time in the 100 fly, swimming a season-best 54.27 to tie for first place. Lindsay Stone added a Notre Dame win in the 1000 free, clocking a winning time of 9:56.17.


Minnesota Diving Invite

At the inaugural Minnesota Diving Invitational, Gopher diver Sarah Bacon won the 1-meter event (334.05).

Nebraska’s Abigail Knapton won 3-meter (330.35) and platform (261.3).

Minnesota junior Morgan Justus  was second on platform 235.80 points.

The Michigan Wolverines had a strong meet behind its depth on the boards.

In the men’s event, Michigan sophomore Jake Herremans  took second on platform with an NCAA Zone Diving qualifying score of 354.05

For the Michigan women, freshmen Christy Cutshaw and Nikki Canale each had two finals appearances during the three-day meet.

Cutshaw placed third on platform (234.30) and finished eighth on the three-meter springboard (251.95), picking up her first NCAA Zone Diving cut during Friday morning’s three-meter preliminaries (293.75).

Canale finished third on one-meter Thursday with an NCAA Zone Diving qualifying score of 276.30 and took fifth on platform (fifth, 223.20). She also had a top-10 finish on three-meter (10th, 258.30).

Senior Dani VanderZwaag added Michigan’s third top-10 platform finish, taking ninth (215.20).


MSU splits with Miami

The Michigan State men’s swimming and diving team beat Miami (Ohio) 180-118 in its first home meet of the season. The women fell to the RedHawks 140-160.

Rachael Bukowski won the 50 free, making this her fifth consecutive win in the event. Bukowski also won the 100 free, making this her fourth consecutive win in the event.

Joe Szczupakiewicz finished first in the 500 free with a time of 4:38.28. Iana Wolff picked up a first place finish in the 100 fly, clocking in at 56.59.\

Cathryn Armstrong won the 100 backstroke, clocking in at 57.54.

Alex Trompke’s time of 50.32 in the 100 backstroke was a season-best and led him to finish first.

Ana Sortland and Nick Leshok took home wins in the 100 breaststroke, clocking in at 1:03.13 and 56.44, respectively. Leshok also won the 100 free with a time of 46.26, a season-best.


Wisconsin tops Northwestern

The Wisconsin swimming and diving team wrapped up a busy weekend with another dominant performance at Northwestern on Saturday morning, with the women’s team winning 161-130 and the men’s team claiming a 162-115 victory.

The Badgers opened with a bang, claiming eight consecutive victories. The women’s 200-yard medley relay squad of Jess Unicomb, Marissa Berg, Beata Nelson and Emmy Sehmann led the way. The quad stayed undefeated on the season with a time of 1 minute, 40.34 seconds.

Wisconsin showcased its depth against Northwestern. In two separate events, the Badgers claimed the first-, second-, third- and fourth-place spots. Ryan Stack (1:39.79), Cam Tysoe (1:40.13), Kevin Braun (1:42.41) and Ido Haber (1:42.65) dominated the 200-yard freestyle, and Badgers shined in the 500 free, with Abby Jagdfeld (4:57.77), Madison Waechter (5:04.55), Sydney Lofquist (5:06.33) and Molly Manchon (5:12.27) claiming the top four spots.

Both the women’s and men’s teams have claimed victories over Penn State, UW-Green Bay and Northwestern.

Northwestern placed 1-2 in the 100 back with Jack Thorne (49.90) and Alex Snarski (50.58).