Baylor, McCallie Both Crowned Tennessee Boys State Champions

Photo Courtesy: McCallie Athletics Twitter (@McCallieSports)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 TISCA Tennessee Boys State Swimming and Diving Championships took place from Feb. 7-8 at the Allan Jones Aquatic Center in Knoxville, Tenn.

It was a tight team race from the beginning. Baylor and McCallie both each up finishing the meet with 248 points, resulting in a tie and both teams being named champions. Despite not winning any events, Baylor demonstrated their impressive depth while McCallie won six individual events and swept all three relays.

This is the 15th-straight year Baylor has won the combined team title and the first time since 2013 that they were able to take the combined, girls, and boys state championships. The team win also marks McCallie’s 21st title in program history as they defedned their championship crown.

Click HERE for full results and team scores.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Baylor 248
1. McCallie – 248
3. Montgomery Bell Academy – 172.5
4. Ensworth – 138
5. Science Hill – 114

McCallie School’s Sam Powe (22.82), Reece Gallagher (26.15), Kyle Berry (23.00), and Conor Kinley (21.02) opened the meet with an impressive victory in the 4×50 medley relay, touching in a combined time of 1:32.99 ahead of Baylor (1:33.61) and Montgomery Bell Academy (1:34.67).

For the second year in a row, McCallie School took the top two spots in the 200 free. Swimming in his future pool, Tennessee commit Will Jackson dominated the event by five seconds in a winning time of 1:35.76 ahead of teammate Powe (1:40.16). Brentwood Academy’s Samuel Tiblier was third in 1:40.39.

Harper Houk of Hardin Valley, who has committed to Grand Canyon, won a tight 200 IM battle. The senior stopped the clock in 1:50.76 ahead of future Vol Thomas Horne of Sevier County’s 1:50.82. Baylor’s Alex Borisov, a Northwestern commit, touched third in 1:52.31.

Oakland’s Joseph Jordan also saw success racing in his soon-t0-be home pool: the in-state Vol commit splashed-and-dashed his way to the top of the podium in 20.41. Mhea’s Hobson Stelling was second in 20.71 while LaVergne’s Telly Coleman, Jr. also snuck under 21 seconds in 20.95 for third.

After taking third a year ago, Smoky Mountain’s Dillon Richardson dove to first on the 1-meter board, posting a final score of 504.00 for the win. Garrett Greene placed second with 462.45 points and Clinton’s Jacob Reasor took third with a total score of 457.50.

For the second-consecutive season, Independence’s Spencer Jyawook led the charge in the 100 fly race and was the first of only two swimmers under 50 seconds. He got his hands to the wall first in 47.98 ahead of runner-up Horne (49.64) and Zack Telep (50.62) of Hardin Valley.

After placing third in the 100 free a year ago, Jordan found himself on top of the podium in the event this season after stopping the clock in 44.73 for the win, just off his prelims time of 44.62. Jyawook was close behind in 45.08 for second while Tiblier took third in 45.99.

For the second-consecutive season, Jackson won the 500 free in dominant fashion: dropping almost 11 seconds from his prelims time to grab the gold in 4:24.29. Ensworth’s Jake Mason raced to second place in 4:31.89 while third place belonged to Sam Flack of Baylor in 4:36.62.

McCallie’s Kinley (21.68), Strib Stribling (21.43), Gallagher (21.30), and Jackson (19.90) knocked off well over two seconds from their morning time to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:24.31. Baylor was second in 1:25.59 while Oakland took third in 1:28.13.

After leading off McCallie’s winning 4×50 medley relay on the first day of competition, Powe was back in the water on day two to claim the 100 back in 49.86 as the only swimmer in the field to dip under the 50-second barrier. Ensworth’s Rob McCall powered home to second in 50.65 while Bearden’s Colby Maupin was third in 50.95.

Houston’s Daniel West got his hands to the wall first in the 100 breast, touching the wall in 55.52 to successfully defend his state title. Borisov raced to the runner-up position with a time of 56.13 while Baylor’s Daniel Unhuryan finished third in 56.38.

McCallie made it a relay sweep as Jackson (44.80), Stribling (47.37), Berry (47.54), and Powe (46.16) concluded the meet as champions in the 4×100 free relay in a combined time of 3:05.87, well ahead of runner-up Montgomery Bell Academy (3:09.17) and Ensworth (3:10.89).

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x