Amanda Blickensderfer Wins Four At Colorado Girls 3A High School States

Photo Courtesy: Ryan Casey Twitter (@jryancasey)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

The first of three 2018 Colorado High School girls swimming and diving state champions was crowned on Friday night at the 3A meet. The team from Longmont High School scored 203 points to win the title. In second was Pueblo County High School with 183 points.

Pueblo County’s 200 medley relay of Kandi LiberatoAmanda BlickensderferAnna Maurello, and Alex Musso touched first in 1:51.06.

D’Evelyn senior Abbey Selin battled St. Mary’s Academy’s Lillianna Brooks for the 200 freestyle title. The senior came out on top, as Selin touched in 1:53.04 to Brooks’ 1:53.93. Also under two minutes was Salida’s Elise Mishmash (1:56.58).

Selin’s sophomore teammate Caitlin Cairns won the 50 freestyle with a 24.19, just ahead of Colorado Academy duo Anne Younger (24.27) and Aly Gallagher (24.42). Gallagher won the 100 free (53.12) while Younger was third (53.85) and Salida’s Mishmash touched second (53.40).

Longmont sophomore Lucille Matheson ran away with the 200 IM, stopping the clock in 2:08.86. Matheson was later out touched in the 500 free, clocking a 5:05.98 to Selin’s 5:04.87.

Durango’s junior Kylie Behn won one meter diving with a score of 381.35 points, just better than St. Mary’s Retta Smith with a score of 380.70.

After leading her team to a relay state title Blickensderfer won the individual 100 fly in 56.72, just ahead of St. Mary’s Cairns in 56.88.

Maurello, Blickensderfer, Julianna Krinsky, and Musso combined for a 1:39.84 and 200 freestyle relay victory. Blickensderfer went four for four with a 100 breaststroke victory in a time of 1:05.69. Manitou Springs’ Sydney Dolloff-Holt was second in 1:05.96.

St. Mary’s’ Sydney Silver won the 100 backstroke in 55.74 ahead of an Aspen duo- Davy Brown (56.79) and Emily Driscoll (58.69).

In the final relay of the night Isa FaddickLindsey Fruhwirth, Brooks, and Silver combined for a 3:41.11 to win the 400 freestyle relay for St. Mary’s Academy. They were just a half second ahead of Longmont’s Emma Svedsen, Hannah SvedsenSamantha Rhodes, and Lucille Matheson (3:41.50).

Full results available here.

Share and Tweet This Story


  1. avatar

    Possibly worth noting that Fossil Creek prelim swim in the 4×50 Medley Relay in the 5A championships, 1:39.68, was just 0.43 off the National Public School record set by Carmel in a recent year, and less than a second off the overall record set yesterday by Independent school Harpeth Hall in the Tennessee State meet.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial