2018 FINA World Cup Beijing: Kromowidjojo Downs Sjostrom In Packed Sprint Final

Photo Courtesy: SIPA USA

Editorial content for the FINA World Swimming Cup is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit TritonWear.com for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check event coverage page.

The third cluster of the 2018 FINA Swimming World Cup series wrapped up today in Beijing, China, with several stars adding to their gold medal totals from the three day meet and shaking up the world rankings.

Live Results

Men’s 400 IM

Hungarian David Verraszto won the opening event of the third World Cup stop in Beijing in 4:04.09. In second was Japan’s Hiromasa Fujimoro (4:07.36), and Australia’s Jared Gilliland (4:09.55).

Women’s 100 Butterfly

Sweden’s Sarah Sjostrom won her second gold medal of the Beijing circuit, hitting the wall in 55.58 to earn her second butterfly title. Sjostrom was just over half a second off her second ranked time from earlier this year (54.91), behind American Kelsi Dahlia (54.84). China’s Zhang Yufei (56.53) and Wang Yichun (57.13).

Men’s 50 Butterfly

Vlad Morozov grabbed his fourth gold medal of the meet in the 50 butterfly, besting the rest of the field by half a second. He took down American Michael Andrew, who finished in second in 22.76, and improved his own season-best from the Eindhoven World Cup stop (22.42). Andrew also dropped a couple hundreths from his own season best from earlier in the World Cup.

Women’s 200 Backstroke

Australia’s Minna Atherton pulled off an upset in the 200 back, taking down countrymate Emily Seebohm, 2:00.02 to 2:02.22. Atherton led the entire way, and while Seebohm did have the fastest closing split of the field, it wasn’t enough to catch Atheron. Seebohm has been as fast as 1:59.94 this year at the Hungarian stop of the World Cup in June, and is coming off winning the 200 back title at the recent Australian Short Course Championships over Atherton. In third was world record holder Katinka Hosszu.

Men’s 100 Backstroke

Australian Mitch Larkin absolutely dominated the men’s 100 backstroke as the only competitor under 50 seconds. He touched the wall in 49.97 to finish just off the world cup record. That is just .01 off his second-ranked time from this season. In second was China’s Li Guangyuan (51.60), followed by Australian Bradley Woodward (51.91). Also in the final was Andrew, who finished in 51.93.

Women’s 50 Breaststroke

Alia Atkinson, world record holder in this event, ran away with this race, touching first in 29.16 ahead of Yulia Efimova (29.63). Atinkson was about half a second off the world record she set earlier in October (28.56). A surprise third came from Emily Seebohm, who was back in the water after her 200 back silver to grab bronze here in 30.35.

Men’s 200 Breaststroke

Russia’s Kiril Prigoda had a monster swim in the 200 breast to move to #1 in the world for the year ahead of teammate Anton Chupkov. Prigoda led from start to finish, touching the wall in 2:01.59 for gold. Chupkov, who has the fastest time in the world from Eindhoven (2:01.70), was second here in 2:02.10.

Women’s 100 Freestyle

Ranomi Kromowidjojo followed up her 50 free gold on night one with another sprint free gold today, just out-touching Sjostrom again to get her hand on the wall first. Kromowidjojo was 51.51 to take the win, which was just .05 ahead of Sjostrom. Kromowidjojo took the race out hard (24.81) and didn’t look back, while Sjostrom was four-tenths back at the 50 and just ran out of room to catch the Dutch gold medalist. In third was 200 free gold medalist Femke Heemskerk (51.92), while Denmark’s Pernille Blume was fourth (52.39) in the star studded final.

Men’s 200 Freestyle

Blake Pieroni picked up the gold medal here in the 200 free, his first in Beijing. Pieroni was 1:42.65 to get the gold, just a touch off his #1 ranked time of 1:41.83 from earlier this year. Just behind him in second was China’a Ji Xinjie (1:42.87) and backstroke ace Xu Jiayu (1:43.59).

Women’s 200 IM

Hungarian Katinka Hosszu picked up her first gold of the night, dominating the 200 IM with a winning time of 2:05.25. That is about a second off her top ranked time from the Budapest stop of the World Cup, but was good enough for a win by about 2.5 seconds over Seebohm (2:07.86) and Olympic gold medalist Yi Shiwen (2:08.16).