TYR Pro Swim Series Fort Lauderdale Day 4 Prelims: Regan Smith Takes Two Top Seeds

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The 2023 TYR Pro Swim Series stop in Fort Lauderdale continued with the Day 4 prelims from Fort Lauderdale Aquatic Center at the site of the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF).

The events of the day are the 100 backstroke, 200 breaststroke, 100 butterfly, 200 IM and 50 freestyle.

Here is a look at each event on Day 4:

Women’s 100 Backstroke

Sun Devil Aquatics’ Regan Smith put together a smooth and quick 100 backstroke in prelims to take the top seed for tonight’s final.

Smith got to the wall in 1:00.02.

Medi Harris of Wales was just behind at 1:00.19 and Olivia Smoliga was at 1:07.71, followed by Lauren Cox (1:00.86) of Great Britain, setting up an intriguing final that also includes Erika Palaez (1:01.36), Bella Sims (1:02.14) and Gabby DeLoof (1:02.36).


Men’s 100 Backstroke

Justin Ress was out quick from an early heat and snagged the top seed in the 100 backstroke. Ress was out in 26.13, the fastest of the field by a significant margin. He closed in 28.06 and got to the wall in 54.19.

Ryan Murphy took the second spot in 54.77.

Jonny Marshall took third (54.88), while the rest of the final will include Nicolas Albiero (54.91), Joao Nogueira Coasta (55.09), Canada’s Javier Acevedo (55.66), Hunter Armstrong (55.67) and Chris Thames (56.06).


Women’s 200 Breaststroke

Lilly King used her fast start to take the lead and did what she usually does – build speed throughout the race.

King took the top seed in the 200 breast, getting to the wall in 2:27.90, nearly four tenths ahead of the field.

Canada’s Kelsey Wog finished second in 2:28.27, followed by King’s training partner and fellow Olympian Annie Lazor, who touched the wall in 2:29.77.

Great Britain’s Kara Hanlon was fourth (2:30.12), followed by Rachel Bernhardt (2:31.03) Tess Cieplucha (2:31.40), Alexis Yager (2:31.48) and Canada’s Sophie Angus (2:32.21).


Men’s 200 Breaststroke

Anton McKee put together a strong prelims swim in the 200 breaststroke, claiming the top seed for tonight’s final with a swim of 2:13.18.

Will Licon was about a second behind, touching the wall in 2:14.33, ahead of Club Wolverine’s Tommy Cope (2:15.67), Chase Kalisz (2:16.20) and Nic Fink (2:16.39).

Rounding out the top eight are Gregory Butler (2:16.41), Brayden Taivassalo (2:16.53) and Maximillian Pilger (2:17.02).


Women’s 100 Butterfly

Sun Devils’ Regan Smith made it two-for-two with top seeds on Saturday morning at the TYR Pro Swim Series in Fort Lauderdale.

After taking the top seed in the 100 backstroke, Smith was nearly two seconds ahead of the field in the 100 butterfly, earning the top seed in 57.54.

Canada’s Katerine Savard was second in 59.24, followed by compatriot Ella Jansen (59.27).

U.S. Olympian Natalie Hinds was also under a minute, taking the fourth seed in 59.61, followed by Canada’s Kamryn Cannings (59.74), Wales’ Harriet Jones (1:00.18), Leah Gingrich (1:00.41) and Kiley Wilhelm (1:00.55).


Men’s 100 Butterfly

Texas Longhorn Aquatics’ Shaine Casas was out in 23.68 and took the top seed in the 100 butterfly, touching the wall in 51.05.

Cardinal Aquatics’ Zach Harting took the second seed in 53.41, followed by Michael Andrew (52.43) and Sandpipers’ Ilya Kharun (52.47).

Mission Viejo’s Trenton Julian took the fifth seed in 52.50, followed by Jamie Ingram (52.96), Diogo Matos Ribeiro (52.99) and Kaii Winkler (53.10).


Women’s 200 IM

Summer McIntosh continued her stellar TYR Pro Swim Series, taking the top seed in the 200 IM. She got to the wall in 2:12.01. It was more than three seconds off her World Junior Record, but almost a second faster than the field.

Olympian Leah Smith was second in 2:12.91, while Canada’s Olympian Mary Sophie Harvey took the third seed in 2:13.35.

Sandpipers’ Katie Grimes took the fourth seed (2:15.82), followed by Isabel Ivey (2:15.97), Canada’s Kelsey Wog (2:16.62), doing a double, Bailey Andison (2:16.77) and Tess Cieplucha (2:17.99).


Men’s 200 IM

Canada’s Finlay Knox grabbed the top seed in the 200 IM and was one of two men to break 2:03 during the prelims session.

Knox touched the wall in 2:02.42, just ahead of Tom Peribonio Avila (2:02.59).

Olympian Kieran Smith took the third seed in 2:03.08, followed by Will Licon (2:03.62), Olympic gold medalist Chase Kalisz (2:04.26), Gator Swim Club’s Mark Szaranek (2:04.77), Grant Sanders (2:04.78) and Olympic silver medalist Jay Litherland (2:05.16).


Women’s 50 Freestyle

Cal Aquatic’s Abbey Weitzeil continued her speedy series with a 24.53 in the 50 free to earn the top seed in finals.

Poland Olympian Kasia Wasick sits second at 24.65, followed by Olympic silver medalist Siobhan Haughey of Hong Kong (24.88).

Denmark’s Julie Kepp Jensen took the fourth spot (25.02), followed by U.S. Olympian Erika Brown (25.33), Erika Pelaez (25.38) and U.S. Olympians Simone Manuel (25.40) and Olivia Smoliga (25.45).


Men’s 50 Freestyle

U.S. Olympian Michael Andrew continued his success in the 50s. After winning the 50 breast and 50 fly, he claimed the top seed in the 50 free with a time of 21.87, the only swimmer in the field under 22.

Hong Kong’s Ian Yentou Ho took the second seed in 22.05, followed by Alberto Mestre (22.13) and Dylan Carter (22.20).

Ryan Held took the fifth seed in 22.22, followed by Miguel Duarte Nascimento (22.24), Victor Guimares Alcara (22.41) and Wales’ Matthew Richards (22.41), who rounded out the top eight.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x