State Records from Truman teDuits, Aidan Lohr as Edgewood Repeats at Wisconsin Boys DII Championships

Photo Courtesy: Crusader Athletics Twitter (@Crusaders_ATH)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 Wisconsin Boys DII State Swimming and Diving Championships took place on Friday, Feb. 21 at the University of Wisconsin Natatorium in Madison, Wis.

A trio of Wisconsin state records were broken during the meet. Edgewood eclipsed the former state mark in the 4×50 medley relay with a time of 1:33.77 and senior Truman teDuits tied the 100 fly record of 49.52. Baraboo’s Aidan Lohr set a new state standard of 48.05 in the 100 back.

Edgwood dominated the meet, winning six events to secure the team title for the second year in a row with a final score of 293. This is only Edgewood’s third championship crown in school history, with their first title achieved in 2014.

Click HERE for full results and team scores.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Edgewood – 293
2. Cedarburg – 265
3. Elkhorn Area – 169
4. Whitefish Bay – 164
5. Baraboo – 135

Edgewood began their winning ways as Alex Moen (23.49), teDuits (25.24), Colin Senke (23.49), and Chase Korb (21.55) combined to win the opening 4×50 medley relay in 1:33.77, eclipsing the previous Wisconsin state record of 1:33.81 set by McFarland in 2012. Baraboo (1:35.90) and McFarland (1:39.97) rounded out the top three.

Edgewood’s Nate Frucht cruised to first in the 200 free, stopping the clock in 1:41.30 for the win for the second-consecutive season. Elkhorn Area earned silver and bronze, respectiveily, with swimmers Hunter Johnson (1:43.54) and Willy Pinnow (1:44.07).

Soon after helping his team to medley relay gold, teDuits was back in the water to successfully defend his 200 IM title after winning the event by over four seconds in a final time of 1:50.03. Cedarburg freshman Isaac Fleig was the runner-up in 1:54.76 while Chilton Co-op’s Parker Sonnabend took third in 1:54.89.

Tomahawk senior Travis Phillips splashed-and-dashed his way to the state title in the 50 free, turning in a quick time of 21.35. Close behind was Elkhorn Area’s Lucas Koepke in second with a time of 21.51 and Cedarburg’s Matt Dedering was third in 21.63.

Soon-to-be Wisconsin Badger teDuits flew to the top of the podium in the 100 fly, getting his hands to the wall in 49.52 to tie the Wisconsin state record initially set by McFarland’s Ryan O’Donnell in 2011. DeForest’s Ben Ramminger (50.43) and Phillips (50.81) rounded out the top three.

Ben Stitgen gave Edgewood yet another victory after he dove to first on the 1-meter board, posting a final score of 483.70. Port Washington’s Nathan Kasdorf finished second with 436.45 points while Grafton’s Ben Niswonger took third with a total score of 403.75.

Lohr, who has committed to Iowa, sprinted to the gold medal in the 100 free after posting a swift 45.67 during finals. Dedering earned the silver with a time of 46.55 while a time of 47.52 was fast enough for Koepke to claim bronze.

After finishing second in the 200 IM, Fleig redeemed himself in the 500 free by winning the event in 4:39.24 to secure his first-ever individual state title. Frucht, who finished third in this event in 2019, was the runner-up with a time of 4:42.00 while Pinnow raced to third in 4:43.62.

Elkhorn Area’s Koepke (21.51), Danny Bush (21.86), Johnson (21.12), and Pinnow (21.67) combined to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:26.16, nearly a full second ahead of the field. Edgewood was the runner-up in 1:27.06 and Whitefish Bay placed third in 1:27.76.

Lohr, who was the second-place finisher in the 100 back a season ago, found himself on top of the podium this year after powering home in 48.05 to break O’Donnell’s 2012 state record of 48.35. Edgewood teammates Senke (50.82) and Moen (51.60) finished second and third, respectively.

Ramminger added a gold medal in the 100 breast to the silver he earned in the 100 fly after he got his hands to the wall in a final time of 56.55. Sonnabend finished second in 57.20 while Sturgeon Bay Co-op’s Brock Aune wound up third in 57.87.

The quartet of teDuits (46.53), Frucht (46.62), Senke (48.22), and Moen (47.42) teamed up to give Edgewood another relay win and clinch their overall team title as they concluded the meet by winning the 4×100 free relay in 3:08.79. Elkhorn Area was second in 3:10.88 and Whitefish Bay was third in 3:13.61.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x