Paul DeLakis Breaks 18 Year Old Record in the 200 IM at Wisconsin Division 1 Boys High School State Championships

Photo Courtesy: Swimming World

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

By Taylor Brien, Swimming World College Intern

MADISON—Paul DeLakis dazzled during finals in the 200 IM at Wisconsin Division 1 Boys High School State Championships.

Madison Memorial swept the competition with 350.5 points. Madison West were second with 201, and Cedarburg claimed third with 194.

The Madison Memorial 200 medley relay team of Justin Temprano (23.85), Amos Kaldor (26.13), Ben Gebhart (22.47) and Alex Peterson-Weber (20.61) lowered the 2005 record of 1:33.61 to 1:33.06.

It was a race to second with Neenah’s Kyle Hrubecky (24.44), Maxwell Boehnlein (27.58), Eli Rocke (24.02) and Reilly Donnellan (20.35) finishing with 1:36.39 just ahead of Eau Claire Memorial/North team of Kevin Guenter (24.50), Paul DeLakis (25.72), Levi Soborowicz (24.40) and Ben Redman (21.98) who took third with a 1:36.92.

Paul DeLakis from Ecmemorial/North dazzled in the 200 IM breaking Ben Anderson’s record that stood for almost two decades with a 1:46.91. Anderson, who attended Arrowhead high school, set the 200 IM record back in 1997 at a 1:48.66. Delakis also took first in the 100 breast later that night with a swift 55.52.

Neenah’s Reilly Donnellan and Madison Memorial’s Alex Peterson-Weber finished simultaneously with a 21.00. Will Hobbs from Cedarburg rounded out the top three with a 21.26.

Madison West’s Aidan Meara secured a first place finish in the 100 free with a 46.48. Not far behind him was Wauwatosa W/E’s Danny Larson who touched in 46.88. Cedarburg’s Sam Douglass was third with a 47.12.

Senior Nick Plachinski of Cedarburg dominated the 500 free finishing ten seconds before the competition with a 4:29.21.

2015 Wisconsin Division 1 Boys High School State Championships – Results