Missy Franklin Back on Top, Leading 200 Backstroke Prelims

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Editorial Coverage provided by Suit-extractor-logo

Missy Franklin returned to the pool in her signature event. She entered with the world’s 13th fastest time this year of 2:08.77. This morning the 2012 200 backstroke gold medalist clocked a 2:09.69.

Maya DiRado hopped in the pool this morning with two events already on her schedule in Rio and the world’s ninth best time of 2:08.19 in this event. This morning she cruised to a 2:09.76.

Despite a warm up injury earlier this week Elizabeth Beisel swam a 2:10.01 for the third seedSwimming next to Beisel was another athlete with a broken hand. Claire Adams ended up outside the top 16.

NCAA champion Danielle Galyer touched fourth in 2:10.35.

Kentucky Aquatics Bridgette Alexander dropped two seconds for a 2:10.90, the fifth seed.

Eva Merrell posted a 2:11.02 and Tasija Karosas stopped the clock in 2:11.23.

Incoming Stanford Cardinal Erin Voss (2:11.24) will return eighth with Melissa Postoll (2:11.67) right behind her.

Fourteen year old Alex Walsh stopped the clock in 2:11.68. After scratching the 100 freestyle to focus on this event, Amy Bilquist earned the eleventh spot in 2:11.77.

Lisa Bratton (2:11.92), Clara Smiddy (2:11.98), Ally Howe (2:12.08), Callie Dickinson (2:12.14), and Quinn Carrozza (2:12.19) also earned lanes in the semifinals.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 1.48.03 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing