Missouri Boys’ State Championships

By Lauren Sampl, Swimming World intern

ST. PETERS, Missouri, November 25. ROCKHURST High School tallied 276 points to win its sixth state championship in a row at the Missouri boy’s state championships. Glendale scored 163 points to finish second, and Parkway Central was close behind in third with 153 points.

Led by Ricky Maestri’s 19.94 anchoring split, the boys from Park Hill South took the opening 200 medley relay in 1:36.73. Nick June (24.92), Michael Kegin (27.60) and Spencer On (24.27) swam the first three legs of the relay before Maestri sealed the win. Parkway South finished second in 1:37.67, and Kickapoo was close behind in 1:37.95.

Just minutes after anchoring his team to a relay win, Maestri returned to win the 200 free in a sizzling time of 1:38.86, breaking Matt Beasley’s state record of 1:39.30, set in 2000. Glendale’s Luke Snow wound up second in 1:41.11, and Patrick Vega of Lafayette claimed third in 1:41.85.

Andrew Kilkenny of Parkway South emerged victorious in the 200 IM, beating out Marshall’s Tyler Nichols, 1:52.39 to 1:52.98. Alex McIntyre of Staley earned third place in 1:55.27.

Rockhurst’s Matthew Margritier sprinted to his first state championship of the day, winning the 50 free in 20.38 and establishing a new state record in the process. Chris McCrary held the old record at 20.47 from 2000. Ryan McFall of Kickapoo also broke 21 seconds, finishing second in 20.72. Mitchell Allphin of Glendale stopped the clock in 21.34 to finish third.

In the diving competition, Rockhurst’s Ford McLiney ran away with the title, amassing 543.00 points on his way to victory. Garret Nevels of Lee’s Summit scored 427.90 points to earn second place, and Zach Wheeler of Liberty rounded out the top three divers with 406.05 points.

Kickapoo’s Ryan McFall dipped under 50 seconds to win the 100 fly in a speedy time of 49.70. Andrew Sanoucie of Timberland swam to second place in 50.90, while Tim Benage of Chaminade completed the podium finishers with his time of 51.33.

Matthew Margritier of Rockhurst collected his second state title of the day with a blazing 44.73 in the 100 free. Margritier crushed the state record of 45.43, set by Matt Beasley in 2002. Half a second behind his was Nixa’s Niklas Brinck in 45.24. Joe Baumgartner of Lindbergh swam to third in 46.00.

200 free champ Ricky Maestri of Park Hill South returned for another individual win, this time in the 500 free. Maestri won by more than seven seconds in a time of 4:29.67. Patrick Vega of Lafayette cruised to second in 4:36.73, and Marquette’s Nick Davis picked up third in 4:39.17.

Rockhurst picked up their first relay win en route to the team title with a quick 1:26.08 in the 200 free relay. Jake Hense (22.85), Jimmy Shay (22.00), Neil White (21.18) and Matthew Margritier (20.05) were the members of the winning squad. Glendale raced to second in1:27.24, and Kickapoo rounded out the top three in 1:28.22.

Niklas Brinck of Nixa added to his second place finish in the 100 free with a win in the 100 back, recording a time of 51.00. Bobby Faulkenberry of Lee’s Summit North finished runner-up in 52.57, and Sean Feher of Parkway South finished five one-hundredths behind in 52.62.

The 100 breast state title went to Greenwood’s Aaron Dennis in 57.87. Marshall’s Tyler Nichols (58.55) and Staley’s Alex McIntyre (59.65) earned second and third.

Rockhurst closed out their run to the team championship with a winning time of 3:10.84 in the 400 free relay. Charlie Hutchison (50.06), Matt Spangler (49.45), Neil White (46.89) and Matthew Margritier (44.44) comprised the championship relay. The squad from Glendale finished second in 3:11.73, and Parkway South’s boys picked up third in 3:12.25.

Comments Off on Missouri Boys’ State Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here