Minnesota Men’s Class AA High School State Championships

By Brian Savard

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 21. EDINA took the 2008 Minnesota Men's Class AA Championships after successfully quelling the 2007 champions who took third in the end.

Edina racked up 258.5 points throughout the course of the meet en route to its state title. Minnetonka finished up in second with 231 points while Burnsville, which won the class title last year, settled for third with 209.5 points.

Paul Tierney, who has contributed to Burnsville's state-wide success in his four years on the team, won two events. Tierney took the 200 freestyle title after taking his 100 split out in a 48.88, finishing in a 1:40.68 time. Tierney touched out the 50 freestyle champion, Luke Pechman of Moorhead, in the 100 freestyle by .01 with a 45.56 time. Tierney is a Swimming World three-star recruit who's headed to the University of Minnesota this fall.

Minnetonka had at least a share in two relay wins. The Minnetonka quartet of Preston Youngdahl, Evan Lee-To, Asger Helmig and Jake Hausauer tied Stillwater Area in the 200 medley relay with a 1:35.42 time while the 200 freestyle relay foursome of Lee-To, Hausauer, Nolan Sinkler and Helmig had the 200 freestyle relay title to themselves after a 1:25.71 swim.

Chaska took one-two in the diving competition. Alex Stern placed first for the Hawks with a 490.40 score while Casey Palmer took second with a 402.00 score. Tom Gimm from Mounds View scored a 368.80 and placed third.