Memphis Tigers Win Team Title at Tupelo Speedo Sectionals

2018 tyr pro swim series mesa
Photo Courtesy: Brooke Wright

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Low attendance didn’t stop swimmers from racing fast and posting plenty of personal bests at the 2018 Speedo Sectionals in Tulepo, Miss. The Memphis Tiger Swim Club swam away with the team title after collecting a total of 638 points.

Tupelo Sectionals – Final Results

Women’s 100 Free

Shock Wave’s Jacqueline Turner was the only swimmer in the field to crack the one-minute barrier, doing so in a winning time of 59.68. That’s her first time under the mark and is a best time by over half a second. Memphis Tiger’s Lucy Patterson finished second in 1:00.63 and Chattahoochee Gold’s Emma Gelatt took third in 1:00.97.

Men’s 100 Free

Chattahoochee Gold’s Jordan Dunn dropped over one second from his previous personal best to win the men’s 100 free in 54.35. Shock Wave’s Donovan Crossen finished second in 54.92 followed by Chattahoochee Gold’s Grant Davis in third with 55.18. City of Atlanta’s Miles Simon (55.26), Memphis Tiger’s Richard Nichol (55.33) and Memphis Tiger’s Warren Turner (55.39) also competed in the top heat.

Women’s 200 Breast

The women’s 200 breast was a close battle, with only one-tenth separating first and second. Chattahoochee Gold’s Sarah Brown dropped over six seconds from her morning time to win in 2:49.00. Memphis Tiger’s Amelia Steiner knocked off over eight seconds from her prelims swim to finish second in a close 2:49.10.

Men’s 200 Breast

The men’s 200 breast was also a close race as Chattahoochee Gold’s Langston Weddington came out on top. He swam a new personal best time of 2:29.95 for the win, followed closely by his teammate Dunn who also swam a new lifetime best of 2:30.41.

Women’s 200 Back

Kceoc Aquatic’s  Parker Herren dropped three seconds from her morning swim to win the women’s 200 back in 2:28.67 – the only swimmer in the field under the 2:30-mark. Patterson took second in 2:30.81 and Brown was third in 2:34.66.

Men’s 200 Back

Memphis Tiger’s Christopher Robinson won the meet’s final event with a time of 2:07.27.

1 comment