Lilly Byrne Wins Second Event on Night Two of Tupelo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Day two of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals were held tonight at the Tupelo Aquatic Center in Tupelo, Miss. Despite the low attendance, host team Shockwave Aquatics and USA Swimming decided to go forward with the meet.

2018 Speedo Sectionals, Tupelo Day 2 Results

Women’s 200 Free

Chattahoochee Gold’s Lilly Byrne won the first event of the evening by exactly two seconds, stopping the clock in 2:08.66. This is her second win of the meet after taking first in the 800 free last night with a time of 9:12.97.

Memphis Tiger’s Kathryn Epperson touched the wall second in 2:10.66 while her teammate Mason Davis finished third in 2:12.22. All swimmers in the field bettered their prelims time by well over one second.

Men’s 200 Free

Memphis Tiger’s Christopher Robinson dropped over three seconds from his morning swim to win the men’s 200 free. He finished first in 1:57.32.

Chattahoochee Gold’s Grant Davis was the only other male under the two-minute barrier, getting to the wall in 1:58.52 for second. Memphis Tiger’s Richar Nichol finished third in 2:00.11.

Women’s 100 Back

Kceoc Aquatic’s Parker Herren won the women’s 100 back with a time of 1:09.22, nearly two seconds better than her time during prelims.

Men’s 100 Back

Chattahoochee Gold’s Langston Weddington was victorious in the men’s 100 back, getting his hand to the wall first with a time of 1:00.99. His final time was over two seconds faster than his personal best coming into this weekend.

City of Atlanta’s Miles Simon dropped two seconds from this morning to finish second in 1:01.19 while Nichol rounded out the top three in 1:01.64.

Women’s 4×100 Medley Relay

The Memphis Tiger’s team of Davis (1:11.06), Amelia Steiner (1:21.36), Epperson and Lucy Patterson combined to win the women’s 4×100 medley relay in 4:44.78.

Men’s 4×100 Medley Relay

The Memphis Tiger quartet of Robinson (59.91), Roland Chang, Warren Turner (1:08.14) and Nichol finished the final event of the evening in 4:11.79

Prelims for the third day of competition will begin tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. CDT.