Le, Lima and Strathman Win Second Events at Jenks Speedo Sectionals

Sydney Angell SWDV 2017-18
Photo Courtesy: Gunnar Rathbun

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

Missouri State’s Paul Le, Missouri’s Giovanny Lima and Arkansas’ Madison Strathman each earned their second victories of the weekend at the 2018 Speedo Sectionals Series in Jenks, Okla. Hosted by the Jenks Trojan Swim Club, the meet will run July 11-14 and is held at the Jenks Trojan Aquatics Center.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Region VIII Summer Sectionals.

Women’s 400 IM

Missouri’s Jennifer King started of the session with a win in the women’s 400 IM. She swam her way to a new lifetime best of 4:53.36.

Splash Club’s Haley Downy dropped over five seconds from her prelims time to take second in 4:54.53 and Club Husker’s Allison Kopas finished third in 4:57.29.

Missouri’s Azra Avdic (4:58.50), Scarlet’s Junseo Kim (4:58.91), Club Husker’s Anna McDonald (5:01.83), Missouri State’s Josie Pearson (5:04.06) and Club Husker’s Shea Bougie (5:11.99) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 400 IM

The men’s 400 IM was a close battle between first and second, but Columbia’s Zachary Lorson got his hand to the wall first. He dropped nearly two seconds from his entry time to win with a time of 4:30.63.

Lincoln Select’s Brennan Balogh was right behind him, finishing second in 4:30.78. Missouri’s Gustavo Gutierrez took third in 4:34.54.

Parkway’s Noah Scheuermann (4:37.29), Scarlet’s Justin Park (4:38.92), Parkway’s Tyler Lewis (4:31.70), Lincoln Select’s Alexander Petty (4:43.73) and Tsunami’s Cameron Murphy (4:47.25) completed the A final.

Women’s 100 Fly

Club Husker’s Dana Posthuma powered her way to a win in the women’s 100 fly, dropping over one second from her morning swim to earn a new lifetime best. She stopped the clock in 1:01.06.

Greater Nebraska’s Caroline Theil also snuck under 1:02, touching the wall in 1:01.99. Huntsville’s Kobie Melton was third in 1:02.04.

Fourth through eighth place went to Springfield’s Kate McCarville (1:02.40), Flyers’ Sophia Burwitz (1:02.50), Club Husker’s Morgan McCafferty (1:03.00), Club Husker’s Isabelle Murray (1:03.34) and Missouri’s Azra Avdic (1:03.52).

Men’s 100 Fly

After winning the mens 50 fly last night, Missouri State’s Paul Le again found himself on top of the podium, this time in the 100 fly. He got his hands to the wall first in 54.13 to win by over one second.

Missouri’s Luke Mankus finished second in 55.20 and Sooner’s Aiden Hayes took third in 55.31.

Rockwood’s Jack Dolan (55.59), American Energy’s William Ingram (56.43), Balogh (57.10), Greater Omaha’s Rush Clark (57.56) and Parkway’s Barclay Dale (58.14) also raced in the top flight.

Women’s 200 Free

SwimTulsa’sLiberty Howell, who finished fourth in the women’s 800 free on night one, was victorious in the 200 free tonight. She won the event by over a second with a final time of 2:03.34.

Missouri’s Samantha Porter was second in 2:04.55 while Danielle Hepler took third in 2:05.80.

Also racing in the A final was Kansas City Blazers’ Katherine Sullivan (2:05.87), North Shore’s Maggie Summit (2:05.95), Arkansas’ Kiera Michailoff-Russell (2:06.25), Wichita’s Katelyn Blattner (2:07.93) and Allison Bloebaum (2:08.67).

Men’s 200 Free

Missouri’s Giovanny Lima earned his second victory of the weekend, taking the men’s 800 free title last night and the 200 free crown tonight. He won by over 2.5 seconds with a time of 1:50.24.

Second went to Council Bluff’s Jackson Allmon in 1:52.70 and third went to Rockwood’s Jack Dolan in 1:53.26.

Missouri’s Grant Reed (1:53.58), Jonesboro’s Jack Little (1:56.17), Flyers’ Carter Nelson (1:56.26), Kansas City Blazers’ Evan Root (1:56.33) and Flyers’ Aaron Kohler (1:59.62) completed the A final.

Women’s 50 Breast

Arkansas’ Madison Strathman found herself on top of the podium again, this time adding the women’s 50 breast title in addition to the 200 breast. She got her hands to the wall first in 32.51.

Splash Club’s Katherine Steward was second in 32.94 and third went to Springfield’s Aubrey Brouwer in 33.25.

Tideriders’ Helen Wojdylo (33.53), North Shore’s Amanda Wager (33.73), Columbia’s Nicole Williams (33.74), Club Husker’s Gwendolyn Worlton (33.98) and Sappy County’s Olivia Dendinger (34.08) also raced in the top eight.

Men’s 50 Breast

Sappy County’s Noah Barr won the men’s 50 breast, dropping over half a second from his morning time to take the title in 28.53.

Le grabbed the silver in 28.92 and the bronze went to Missouri’s Jordan O’Brien in 28.96.

Greater Omaha’s Conner Funke (29.25), Missouri’s Nick Staver (29.30), Flyers’ Samuel Heveroh (29.32), Missouri’s Ryan Geheb (29.80) and Flyers’ Collin O’Brien (29.95) finished fourth through eighth.

Prelims for the third day of competition will begin Thursday at 9:00 a.m. CDT.