Jenks Speedo Sectionals Off to a Fast Start

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

The 2018 Speedo Sectionals Series kicked off today in Jenks, Okla. Hosted by the Jenks Trojan Swim Club, the meet will run July 11-14 and is held at the Jenks Trojan Aquatics Center.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Region VIII Summer Sectionals.

Women’s 800 Free

Scarlet’s Abigail Kilgallon won the meet’s first event, knocking off almost three seconds from her seed time in the women’s 800 free. She posted a time of 8:52.91 for the win.

Also getting under the nine-minute mark was her teammate Junseo Kim in 8:55.26 and Missouri’s Azra Avdic in 8:58.45.

SwimTulsa’s Liberty Howell (9:01.10), Club Husker’s Rachel Powers (9:04.23), Kansas City Blazers’ Katherine Sullivan (9:05.65), Allison Bloebaum (9:07.48) and Wichita’s Katelyn Blattner (9:11.71) finished in the top eight.

Men’s 800 Free

Missouri’s Giovanny Lima cruised to first in the men’s 800 free, winning the event by over six seconds. He won in a time of 8:17.59.

His teammate Jacob Wielinski was the runner-up in 8:23.97 while Scarlet’s Kyle Iorizzo was third in 8:25.87.

American Energy’s Hunter Denison (8:28.30), Missouri’s Gustavo Gutierrex (8:31.09), Jonesboro’s Jack Little (8:36.48), Scarlet’s Jonathan Choi (8:38.61) and Tsunami’s Cameron Murphy (8:42.19) rounded out the top eight.

Women’s 100 Free

Samantha Porter sprinted her way to first place in the women’s 100 free. She finished with a final time of 56.08 after posting a lifetime best 55.85 during prelims.

Wichita’s Megan Keil took second in 57.29 and North Shore’s Maggie Summit finished third in 57.39.

Huntsville’s Kobie Melton (57.48), Arkansas’ Kiera Michailoff-Russell (57.66), Sullivan (58.89), Howell (59.02) and Missouri’s Sarah Thompson (59.16) completed the top eight.

Men’s 100 Free

Flyers’ Samuel Heveroh won a close men’s 100 free final, getting to the wall only four-tenths ahead of the runner-up. He won in a personal best time of 51.23.

Rockwood’s Jack Dolan took a close second in 51.29 while Missouri’s Sam Coffman finished third in 51.61.

Council Bluff’s Jackson Allmon (52.10), Flyers’ Carter Nelson (52.68), Rockwood’s Nicolas Wamsley (52.71), Kansas City Blazers’ John Paul Hynes (53.02) and Missouri’s Jackson Kent (53.61) finished fourth through eighth.

Women’s 200 Breast

Arkansas’ Madison Strathman dropped nearly three seconds from her morning swim to take the women’s 200 breast crown. She got her hands to the wall in 2:33.07.

Second went to Club Husker’s Gwendolyn Worlton in 2:34.28 and Splash Club’s Haley Downey took a close third in 2:34.36.

American Energy’s Hanna Newby (2:34.57), Splash Club’s Katherine Steward (2:36.66), Greater Nebraska’s Caroline Theil (2:37.08), Arkansas’ Sydney Angell (2:38.84) and Columbia’s Nicole Williams (2:39.75) rounded out the A final.

Men’s 200 Breast

Greater Omaha’s Conner Funke shaved off three seconds from his morning swim to win the men’s 200 breast. He used consistent splits to touch the wall in 2:20.95 for the win.

Sappy County’s Luke Barr took second in 2:21.78 while Wichita’s Benjamin Patton and Missouri’s Nick Staver tied for third with a time of 2:23.23.

Missouri’s Ryan Geheb (2:24.11), Topeka’s Tarrin Fisher (2:24.71), Columbia’s Zachary Lorson (2:24.93) and Empire’s Daniel Worth (2:26.19) completed the top flight.

Women’s 200 Back

Missouri’s Amanda Smith held consistent splits to earn the goal in the women’s 200 back. She stopped the clock in 2:16.26 for the title.

Her teammate Samantha Wilts grabbed the silver in 2:17.97 and Club Husker’s Anna McDonald got the bronze in 2:18.22.

The Aquakids’ Allie Rogers (2:19.79), Arkansas’ Madison Umberger (2:21.10), Club Husker’s Jessica Pentlarge (2:21.22), Club Husker’s Morgan McCafferty (2:21.38) and Kilgallon (2:23.41) finished fourth through eighth.

Men’s 200 Back

Missouri’s Daniel Hein won the men’s 200 back in 2:03.21, knocking off over a full second from his morning time to earn the title.

Lincoln Select’s Brennan Balogh took second in 2:04.06 and Missouri’s Grffin Schaetzle was third in 2:04.65.

Kansas City Blazers’ Kevin Glenn (2:08.26), Sarpy County’s Mateo Miceli (2:08.81), Patton (2:08.83), Elkhorn’s Ryan Patterson (2:08.99) and Arkansas Dolphins’ Thomas Heye (2:10.66) completed the top heat.

Women’s 50 Fly

Not too long after finishing sixth in the women’s 200 breast, Their was back in the water to win the women’s 50 fly. She won the event in 27.80 as the only swimmer under the 28-second mark.

Parkway’s Karisa Franz was second in 28.09 and Melton was third in 28.27.

Fourth through eighth went to Rec Plex’s Autumn Looney (28.31), Keil (28.34), Michailoff-Russell (28.35), Rockwood’s Anna Miller (28.41) and Arkansas’ Sarah Chambliss (28.47).

Men’s 50 Fly

Missouri State’s Paul Le powered his way to a win in the night’s final individual event. He won with a time of 24.20.

Second place went to Greater Omaha’s Colin Lafave in 24.78 and third place went to Enid’s Jason Schroeder in 24.93.

Sooner’s Aiden Hayes (24.97), Enid’s Micah Chambers (25.57), Wamsley (25.74), Parkway’s Barclay Dale (25.78) and American Energy’s William Ingram (25.93) rounded out the A final.

Women’s 4×50 Medley Relay

The Arkansas quartet of Umberger (31.40), Strathman (31.62), Chambliss (28.37) and Michailoff-Russell (25.90) combined to win the women’s 4×50 medley relay in a swift 1:57.29.

Club Husker was second in 1:58.31 and Springfield was third in 2:00.02.

Men’s 4×50 Medley Relay

Flyers’ Trevor Halliburton (27.25), Collin O’Brien (29.45), Nelson (26.21) and Heveroh (22.83)

Greater Omaha was second in 1:45.89 and Rockwood was third in 1:46.64.

Prelims for the second day of competition will begin Thursday at 9:00 a.m. CDT.