ITU World Aquathon Championships Update

Cancun, Mexico.- Nearly 250 athletes from 23 countries
will race the 5th ITU World Aquathlon Championships on
Sunday, starting a multisports festival which will
reach its climax next week with the ITU World
Triathlon Championships.
Langosta Beach will be the witness of a very
competitive race, consisting of a 2.5km run, 1km swim
and another 2.5km run.
In a press conference held at Plaza Caracol,
Mexican Triathlon Federation President Jaime Cadaval
thanked the government of Cancun and the state of
Quintana Roo for their support, as well as the
International Triathlon Union (ITU) for trusting the
organization to Mexico.
"The aquathlon will give us an idea of how the
competition will be next week with the triathlon",
said Cavadal.
Event director Luis Galvez explained all details
of the race, due to start at 8.00 for age-groupers and
an hour and a half later for the elite, junior and
under-23 year old athetes.
With defending champions, Spain's Ivan Rana and
USA's Siri Lindley absent this year, athletes from
Europe, South America and Canada have greater chances
of winning.
Brazil will be represented by Paulo Miyashiro,
third in 2002, current Pan American champion Leandro
Macedo, Juracy Moreira and Sydney Olympics eleventh
place finisher Sandra Soldan.
Other strong contenders are Argentina's 2001 Pan
American champion Daniel Fontana,
Canada's Shane Armstrong, Gillian Moody and Jill
Savege, Ukraine´s 1997 world junior champion Andrey
Glushchenko and Hungary's Szabolcs Agoston and Csaba
Savege is currently placed fifth in the ITU World
Rankings and Kuttor took part in the last two editions
of the aquathlon worlds: fifth in Cancun'2000 y
seventh in Edmonton'2001.
The host country will be represented by 1997 Pan
American champion Eligio Cervantes, Bruno Arochi,
Rodrigo Quevedo y Esther Aguayo.
The Aquathlon Worlds started in Noosa, Australia,
in November 1998 and will mark the beginning of a
10-day multisport festival, which will end with the
Triathlon Worlds November 9-10.
Cancun already hosted the World triathlon and
duathlon champs in 1995, and the 2000 aquathlon

Past World Aquathlon Champions:

Year Venue
Men Women

1998 Noosa, Australia
Shane Reed (NZL) Rina Hill(AUS)
1999 Noosa, Australia
Shane Reed (NZL) Rina Hill(AUS)
2000 Cancun, Mexico
Mathew Reed (NZL) Pilar Hidalgo(ESP)
2001 Edmonton, Canada

Ivan Rana (ESP) Siri Lindley(USA)

Comments Off on ITU World Aquathon Championships Update

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here