ISL Announces ‘Protected’ Swimmers for DC Trident, Aqua Centurions Ahead of Draft

Photo Courtesy: Mine Kasapoglu/ISL

The International Swimming League today unveils the final lists of athletes who have accepted to be ‘protected’ by their respective clubs if chosen during the upcoming ISL Draft that begins on 29 June 2021. Aqua Centurions and DC Trident are the final two of the 10 ISL clubs to announce the names of their respective ‘protected’ athletes this week.

‘Protected’ athletes are the ISL Swimmers who have confirmed their commitment to remain on their current team if selected by the team’s General Manager, or if elected by the fans online, during the ISL Draft.

Any registered athlete who has not committed to remain on their current team will enter the ISL Draft Pool as an ISL Rookie Swimmer, while any ISL Swimmer who has confirmed their commitment to their current ISL Team, but has not been retained, will enter the Draft Pool as an Veteran Swimmer.

ISL Teams will be able to retain up to a maximum of 15 ‘protected’ athletes from their Season 1 and Season 2 rosters, plus an additional ‘protected’ athlete elected via an interactive online fan vote.  Teams will then be able to select 11 additional swimmers from the Draft Pool during the ISL Draft, to a maximum total of 27 swimmers.

More International Swimming League coverage

The ISL Draft is scheduled to take place on 29-30 June 2021.  One week prior, on 22 June, each of the 10 ISL Clubs will announce the first 5 swimmers from the 15 that they can ultimately retain.

Once the ISL Draft has concluded, Clubs’ General Managers will finalize their respective teams’ rosters, to a maximum of 36 swimmers each, through direct negotiations with the remaining swimmers from the Draft Pool only.

You can find the full draft rules here.

The ‘protected’ athletes of Aqua Centurions and DC Trident are as follows:

Abrahm DeVine
Annika Bruhn
Bailey Andison
Brianna Throssell
Cody Miller
Drew Loy
Jacob Pebley
Jay Litherland
Kathrin Demler
Leah Gingrich
Leah Neale
Leiston Pickett
Linnea Mack
Madison Kennedy
Mark Nikolaev
Matheus Santana
Meiron Cheruti
Miranda Tucker
Mohamed Samy
Rozaliya Nasretdinova
Ting Quah
Tommy Cope
Tristan Hollard
Velimir Stjepanovic
Zach Apple
Zach Harting
Zane Grothe


Fabio Santi
Tain Bruce
Katalin Burian
Martina Carraro
Arianna Castiglioni
Marcelo Chierighini
Gabriel Santos
Elena Di Liddo
Silvia Di Pietro
Valentne Dumont
Leonardo De Deus
Vladislav Grinev
Luiz Altamir
Nicolo Martinenghi
Breno Correia
Larissa Oliveira
Alessandro Miressi
Lidon Campo Del Munoz
Stefania Pirozzi
Matteo Rivolta
Simone Sabbioni
Fabio Scozzoli
Szebasztian Szabo
Alexandra Touretski
Evelyn Verraszto
Pedro Spajari
Thomas Ceccon

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with the ISL. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact