ISL Announces Protected Athletes for Team Iron, Tokyo Frog Kings Ahead of Draft

Photo Courtesy: Mine Kasapoglu / ISL

The International Swimming League continues to unveil the long lists of athletes who have accepted to be ‘protected’ by their respective clubs if chosen during the upcoming ISL Draft that begins on 29 June 2021.

Two of the ten ISL Clubs are announcing the names of their respective ‘protected’ athletes each day of this week.  ‘Protected’ athletes are the ISL Swimmers who have confirmed their commitment to remain on their current team if selected by the team’s General Manager, or if elected by the fans online, during the ISL Draft.

Team Iron and Tokyo Frog Kings are the third set of clubs to announce their lists (after Cali Condors and Energy Standard Monday and London Roar and LA Current yesterday). They will be followed by Toronto Titans and NY Breakers on Thursday 10 June, concluding with DC Trident and Aqua Centurions on Friday 11 June.

Any registered athlete who has not committed to remain on their current team will enter the ISL Draft Pool as an ISL Rookie Swimmer, while any Swimmer who has confirmed their commitment to their current ISL Team, but has not been retained, will enter the Draft Pool as an ISL Veteran Swimmer.

ISL Teams will be able to retain up to a maximum of 15 ‘protected’ athletes from their Season 1 and Season 2 rosters, plus an additional ‘protected’ athlete elected via an interactive online fan vote.  Teams will then be able to select 11 additional swimmers from the ISL Draft Pool during the ISL Draft, to a maximum total of 27 swimmers.

More International Swimming League coverage

The ISL Draft is scheduled to take place on 29-30 June 2021.  One week prior, on 22 June, each of the 10 ISL Clubs will announce the first 5 swimmers from the 15 that they can ultimately retain.

Once the ISL Draft has concluded, Clubs’ General Managers will finalize their respective teams’ rosters, to a maximum of 36 swimmers each, through direct negotiations with the remaining swimmers from the ISL Draft Pool only.

You can find the full draft rules here.

The ‘protected’ athletes of Team Iron and Tokyo Frog Kings are as follows:

Alina Zmushka
Artsiom Machekin
Caroline Pilhatsch
Clément Mignon
Daria K. Ustinova
Daryna Zevina
David Verraszto
Emilie Beckmann
Emre Sakci
Guilherme Basseto
Ida Hulkko
Isabella Hindley
Jenna Laukkanen
Jessica Vall
Katinka Hosszú
Kristof Milak
Leonardo Santos
Marco Orsi
Maria Ugolkova
Maxim Lobanovszkij
Mélanie Henique
Nicholas Santos
Oussama Sahnoune
Ramon Klenz
Ranomi Kromowidjojo
Robert Glinta
Ross Murdoch
Thom de Boer
Valerie Van Roon
Veronika Andrusenko
Yakov Toumarkin


Ai Soma
Anna Ntountounaki
Catie Deloof
Chihiro Igarashi
Cristian Quintero
Daiya Seto
Kanako Watanabe
Katsuhiro Matsumoto
Kosuke Matsui
Leah Smith
Markus Thormeyer
Miho Teramura
Ryosuke Irie
Shinri Shioura
Simona Kubova
Suzuka Hasegawa
Takeshi Kawamoto
Tomomi Aoki
Tomoru Honda
Vladimir Morozov
Yasuhiro Koseki
Yui Ohashi

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with the ISL. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact