Isabel Ivey Collects Fifth Win On Night Four In Gainesville

Photo Courtesy: USA Swimming

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Isabel Ivey won her fifth individual event on the final night of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals in Gainesville, Fla. Gator Swim Club had a dominate meet, winning with a total of 3007 points ahead of Bolles (1453) and East Coast Aquatic Club (1169.5).

Day Four Final Results

Women’s 800 Free

Swim Florida’s Olivia McMurray began the final day of competition with a win in the women’s 800 free. She finished with a time of 8:52.39.

Bolles’ Leah Degeorge finished second in 8:57.95 and Marcella Ruppert-Gomez took third in 8:59.80 as the only other swimmers under the nine-minute mark.

Highlander’s Alixandra Roy (9:03.76), East Coast Aquatics’ Anna Auld (9:04.30), Fast Lane’s Polina Rukosuev (9:05.67), Sarasota’s Christina Cianciolo (9:08.70) and Clearwater’s Taylor Ward (9:13.23) completed the top flight.

Men’s 1500 Free

After taking the bronze in the men’s 800 free on the first night of competition, Sarasota’s Drew Clark got the gold in the 1500 free tonight. He was the only swimmer under the 16-minute mark with a final time of 15:45.74.

Saint Petersburg’s Will Smith was second in 16:04.28 and Swim Florida’s Ryan Staunch was third in 16:25.08.

Fast Lane’s Zachary Brewer (16:25.49), Saint Petersburg’s Benjamin Cote (16:26.06), T2’s Oscar Madsen (16:31.22), Episcopal’s Joseph Kim (16:34.01) and Sarasota’s Sarsen Whatmore (16:37.07) completed the top eight.

Women’s 200 Fly

Olympic gold medalist Penny Oleksiak cruised to first in the women’s 200 fly, knocking off just over three seconds from her prelims time. She finished with a final time of 2:12.40.

Sarasota’s Isabel Traba finished second in 2:15.95 and AquaKids’ Mary Smutny took third in 2:16.30.

Gator’s Talia Bates (2:16.89), Blue Dolfins’ Chloe Hampson (2:18.03), Swim Florida’s Olivia McMurray (2:22.04), Greater Tampa’s Alyssa Nagle (2:22.42) and Metro Aquatics’ Alexandra Paz (2:22.83) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 200 Fly

After taking fifth in the men’s 50 fly last night, Gator’s Mason Wilby found himself on top of the podium tonight in the 200 fly. He touched the wall in a winning time of 2:01.34.

Second place went to Episcopal’s Sterling Crane in 2:01.47 and AquaKids’ Miguel Cancel took third in 2:03.62.

T2’s Mason Laur (2:05.10), Episcopal’s Jace Crawford (2:07.04), Metro Aquatics’ Nestor Montero (2:07.25), Episcopal’s Braeden Knight (2:10.47) and Sarasota’s Martin Baffico (2:10.89) completed the A final.

Women’s 100 Free

Isabel Ivey found herself with the gold for the fourth time this meet after winning the women’s 100 free by nearly a full second. She finished in 55.48, making that a new lifetime best.

Gator’s Isabella Garofalo also swam a new personal best of 56.43 for second and Quest’s Kelsey Dambacher finished third in 57.39.

Smutny (57.52), South Florida’s Kathleen Golding (57.90), Gator’s Victoria Bindi (58.28) and Gator’s Sydney Kang (58.33) completed the top heat.

Men’s 100 Free

Gator’s Khader Baqlah added the men’s 100 free title in addition to his 200 free win from earlier this weekend. He posted a time of 50.84 for the win.

Pleasonton’s Maxime Rooney finished a close second in 50.93 while Daytona Beach’s Viktor Toth finished third in 51.73.

Also swimming in the top eight were Westminster’s Robinson Molina (52.40), Gator’s Christopher Margotti (52.96), Gator’s Enzo Martinez Scarpe (53.10), Tampa Bay’s Grant Sanders (53.57) and Metro Aquatics’ Adrian Moya (53.75).

Women’s 200 Breast

Golden Panther’s Nicole Hunnewell completed the breaststroke sweep in Gainesville after winning the women’s 200 breast tonight. She dropped 2.5 seconds from her entry time to win in 2:34.83.

Gator’s Hannah Burns finished second in 2:35.24 and Episcopal’s Emily Merton was third in 2:38.91.

Sarasota’s Emma Weyant (2:39.89), South Florida’s Molly Golding (2:41.91), Hurricane’s Andrea Kyriakidis (2:43.42), Saint Andrew’s Shayna Fetes (2:45.55) and Bolles’ Olivia Peoples (2:48.12) finished fourth through eighth.

Men’s 200 Breast

Avon Community’s Chandler Bray knocked off nearly nine seconds from his prelims time to win the men’s 200 breast by six seconds. His final time was 2:16.60.

East Coast Aquatics’ Kevin Degrijze grabbed the silver in 2:22.56 and Pipeline’s Jared Pike earned the bronze in 2:24.38.

Gator’s Dylan Brisco (2:26.88), Gator’s Julian Hill (2:27.94), Gulliver’s Teolio Darias (2:31.27), Christopher Dieffenthaller (2:31.48) and South Florida’s Marc Rojas (2:31.65) rounded out the podium.

Women’s 200 Back

Not too long after a win in the women’s 100 free, Ivey was back in the pool to take the crown in the 200 back with a time of 2:14.73. That marks her fifth victory of the meet.

Gator’s Caitlin Brooks was second in 2:17.59 and third went to Mary Kelley in 2:19.93.

Fourth through eighth place went to Gator’s Madison Conway (2:21.37), Gator’s Kirschtine Balbuena (2:.22.16), East Coast Aquatics’ Madison Cummings (2:22.35), Roxanne Yu (2:23.42) and Storm’s Summer Stanfield (2:23.45).

Men’s 200 Back

Cancel concluded his successful meet with a win in the men’s 200 back. He touched the wall first with a winning time of 2:05.03.

Fast Lane’s Joshua Zuchowski finished second in 2:06.41 and Saint Petersburg’s Lukas Cote was third in 2:07.78.

Saint Andrew’s Nicholas Sharp (2:08.22), Saint Petersburg’s Caleb Kravitz (2:11.08), Episcopal’s Joseph Kim (2:12.42), Swim Florida’s Garrett Stanley (2:14.65) and Sarasota’s Martin Baffico (2:16.23) rounded out the A final.

Women’s 4×100 Free Relay

The Gator team of Balbuena (58.45), Kang (58.91), Bates (57.54) and Georgia Bates (59.72) won the women’s 4×100 free relay in a time of 3:54.62.

East Coast Aquatic Club finished second in a time of 3:57.34 and Swim Florida was third in 4:01.75.

Men’s 4×100 Free Relay

Just like the women, the Gator men’s team of Wilby (52.99), Hill (52.74), Dawson (52.06) and Trevor McGovern (53.09) won the meet’s final event in 3:30.88.

Metro Aquatic Club took second in 3:31.63 and Bolles finished third in 3:39.69.

1 comment