High School State Championships: North Dakota Girls

GRAND FORKS, North Dakota, November 18. THE Minot Majettes hadn’t won a North Dakota girls state high school swimming championship since 2008. The Majettes were determined this year to claim the title this year–and succeeded with a 337-326 victory over West Fargo. Fargo North, who won last year, finished not far behind in third (315). Century claimed fourth (277), followed by Grand Forks Central (192).

West Fargo senior Danica Dutt was named Senior Athlete of the Year. With her 56.20 victory in the 100 fly, Dutt became a four-year winner in the event. She also anchored the state record-setting Packers’ 400 free relay with sophomores Hallie Peterson and Mykin Glenning plus junior Brianna Faul. They combined for a 3:33.33, bettering Fargo North’s 2012 mark of 3:34.29. This year’s Fargo North team of sophomores Breah Anderson and Leann Mengelkoch, junior Ellie Roche and senior Maddie Derby also went under the prior standard with their 3:34.03.

Minot’s 200 free relay of junior McKenna Brown, sophomore Josie Gillund, junior Francesca Walker-Rozo and sophomore Emily Hamel lowered the state record in the 200 free relay from Mandan’s 1999 mark of 1:39.27 to 1:38.21. Senior Sarah Bogenrief joined Brown, Walker-Rozo and Hamel for their 200 medley relay victory (1:48.43). Hamel and Walker-Rozo gave Minot a 1-2 finish in the 50 free (24.38 and 24.70).

Ellie Roche, a junior at Fargo North, earned her second straight 200 IM title (2:07.75) and returned to the top of the podium with her 1:06.28 in the 100 breast. She had previously won in 2011 (1:05.59) and finished second last year (1:06.21).

Century junior Dani Bergeson also posted winning times in both the 100 free (51.07) and 100 back (56.27). Bergeson fell short of the state mark she set in 2012 (55.68).

Alexis Ljunggren, an eighth-grade student at Grand Forks Central, took charge in the 500 free with her 5:04.10. Williston senior Ketti Ringwall completed the 200 free in 1:54.07 for the win. Shanley senior Anna Reinholz’s 438.65 points earned her the diving title.

Named as co-coaches of the year were Grand Forks’ Bryan Walls and Fargo North’s Talia Butery.

Submit your All America Application now