Great Lakes Valley Conference Day 3 Recap: Drury, Indianapolis Lead

Night three of the Great Lakes Valley Conference consisted of five events including the 500 free, 100 back, 100 breast, 200 fly and 800 free relay.

Tonight’s swims were as listed. After day three, Drury stays on top for women (781), followed by University of Indianapolis (626.5), Truman State (318), McKendree (307.5), Bellarmine (289), Lewis (176), Missouri St. Louis (168), and William Jewell (158). Ninth place goes to Maryville (108).

University of Indianapolis leads for men (621), followed by Missouri M&T (549), McKendree (467), Drury (441), Missouri St. Louis (194.5), Truman State (182), Lewis (154), Bellarmine (154), William Jewell (115), and Maryville (101).

Results of the last two evenings of swimming are as followed:

Women’s 500 free

Drury’s Erica Dahlgren tacked another victory with a finishing time of 4:55.36. Team mate Allison Weber finished closely behind with a time of 4:56.31. Third place when to Rachel Walker of Bellarmine with a time of 4:57.55

Indy’s Sasha Shatskikh took fourth with a time of 4:58.41, followed by Hallie Dixon (4:58.48), Karianne Reinertsen (4:59.24), Laura Boardman (5:01.22), and Melanie Arnold (5:07.78).

Men’s 500 free

McKendree’s Throstur Bjarnason took the gold with a time of 4:26.88. Indy’s Adam Rosipal finished in second with a time of 4:27.19, followed by team mate Cody Liske, who took third with a time of 4:29.92.

Missouri S&T’s Tim Samuelsen took fourth with a time of 4:30.43, followed by Alexander Graham (4:31.59), Luca Simonetti (4:32.33), and Jared Dachroeden (4:32.58). Connor Neils finished in eighth with a time of 4:33.94.

Women’s 100 back

Drury freshman Laura Pareja takes her first gold with a time of 54.81. A tie for second place sits between McKendree’s Sydney Rey and Indy’s Izzi Clark with a time of 55.29.

Closely behind the duo was Edda Skoric, touching in at 55.38, followed by Abby Lunzmann (55.98), Stephanie Palcyznski (56.46), Meredith Geyer (56.56), and Maddisen Lantz (56.80).

Men’s 100 back

Indy’s Rodrigo Codo Berti took the gold with a time of 47.83. Drury’s Kham Glass touched in second with a time of 48.95. Indy’s Ante Lucev finished in third with a time of 49.09.

Less than one second separated the following 5 finishers, led by McKendree’s Daniel Buijs, who took fourth with a time of 49.10. Tommy Nelson touched n fifth (49.14), followed by Radoslaw Chupka (49.16), Pavel Semochkin (49.51), and Jake Braumbaugh (50.01).

Women’s 100 breast

Junior Bailee Nunn added to Drury’s lead with a time of 59.59. Bellarmine’s Sophia Noren took second with a time of 1:01.27, followed by Truman States’ Natalie Galluzzo with a time of 1:01.36.

Behind Galluzzo was Amber Visser with a time of 1:04.28, followed by Madeline Nelson (1:05.30), Mailin Gupta (1:05.46), Ginny Schranck (1:05.50), and Annika Hofer (1:06.12).

Men’s 100 breast

Missouri S&T’s freshman Marco Flores took first with a time of 53.96, followed by Joshua Umrysh, with a time of 54.41. Caleb Carlson touched in third with a time of 54.76.

Two team mates snagged fourth and fifth, lead by sophomore Jan Zuchowicz (54.77) and freshman Antonio Milin (5.04). Sixth place went to Ty Grubb (55.27), closely followed by Tj Leseure (55.28), and Tame Govaerts-Paul (55.89).

Women’s 200 fly

Drury’s Tori Sopp took home her second individual gold with a time of 1:57.97. Indy’s Darian Murray took second with a time of 2:01.20, followed by McKendree’s Victoria Sananikone, with a time of 2:01.80.

Bec Cross took fourth with a time of 2:02.19, followed by Avery Witcher (2:04.21), Maggie Hickey (2:06.03), Ashley Sturman (2:07.73), and Carley Wood (2:08.30).

Men’s 200 fly

Bellarmine’s Matthew Sims took gold with a time of 1:46.23. Missouri S&T’s Aaron Taske touched in second with a time of 1:46.88, followed by Kael Yorke with a time of 1:48.74.

Fourth place went to Andy Huffman with a time of 1:48.97, followed by Kevin McPherson (1:49.29), Austin Mayer (1:50.50), Justin King (1:51.86), and Spencer Woodward (1:51.91).

Women’s 800 free relay

Drury ended the evening with a first, coming in at 7:26.71. Indy snagged second with a time of 7:30.99, followed by Bellarmine with a time of 7:39.71.

McKendree touched in fourth with a time of 7:41.69, followed by Truman State (7:43.13), William Jewell (7:45.31), Missouri St. Louis (7:48.67), and Lewis (7:51.08).

Men’s 800 free relay

McKendree touched in first with a time of 6:32.04, followed by Missouri S&T with a time of 6:33.00. Indy touched in third with a time of 6:37.21.

Drury touched in fourth at 6:41.58, followed by Truman State (6:41.81), William Jewell (6:42.87), and Lewis (6:49.89). The final touch of the night is Missouri St. Louis, finishing in at 6:52.19.

The final day of the meet commences tomorrow with prelims at 10 a.m. EST. The events swam will be 100 free, 200 back, 200 breast.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x