FINA Announces Inaugural Athletes’ Committee, led by Alia Atkinson, Jack Laugher

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick
FINA Announces Inaugural Athletes’ Committee, led by Alia Atkinson, Jack Laugher

FINA has today announced its inaugural elected Athletes’ Committee for the 2022-2026 period, following a ceremony on the sidelines of the 19th FINA World Championships Budapest 2022.

The gender and discipline-balanced Athletes’ Committee, made up of athletes from swimming, diving, high diving, water polo, artistic swimming and open water swimming, will play a major role in ensuring that all voices are at the heart of aquatics are heard and represented equally.

“Athletes are the heartbeat of aquatics. There is no sport without athletes. This is why I am so proud to be part of these historic elections today. With equal gender representation and athletes from all six continents across all disciplines, I have no doubt that those elected will strengthen and promote the athletes’ voice for the benefit of the entire aquatics community,” said FINA President Husain Al-Musallam.

“Today marks another significant step forward for both FINA and all aquatics athletes. The Athletes’ Committee will act as a critical link between athletes and FINA. Having the athlete community choose those who represent them in important decisions is critical for the future development of our beloved sport,” said the new FINA Athletes’ Committee Chair Alia Atkinson.

During the ceremony, Alia Atkinson (JAM) and Jack Laugher (GBR) were confirmed as the new FINA Athletes’ Committee Chair and Vice-Chair respectively. The full elected FINA Athletes’ Committee for the 2022-2026 period is as follows:

Athletes’ Committee Chair – Alia Atkinson (JAM)

Athletes’ Committee Vice-Chair – Jack Laugher (GBR)

More world news

Artistic Swimming

  • Nehal Saafan (EGY)
  • Bill May (USA)


  • Maria Polyakova (RUS)

High Diving

  • Anna Bader (GER)
  • Alain Kohl (LUX)

Open Water

  • Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA)
  • Ferry Weertman (NED)


  • Therese Alshammar (SWE)
  • Shane Ryan (IRL)
  • Siobhan Bernadette Haughey (HKG)
  • Dmitriy Balandin (KAZ)
  • Jessica Hansen (AUS)
  • Ryan Pini (PNG)
  • Jamila Nsibambi Lunkuse (UGA)
  • Matthew Sates (RSA)
  • Dylan Carter (TTO)

Water Polo

  • Margarita Plevritou (GRE)
  • Felipe Perrone Rocha (ESP)

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with FINA. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Nadine Benjamin
1 month ago

Well deserved!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x