Dave Marsh Awarded National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy

AUBURN, Ala., June 5. AUBURN swimming coach David Marsh was awarded the National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) announced at its National Convention and Awards Ceremony.

The award, which is the highest award of its kind in the United States, is presented to an individual or organization for having contributed in an outstanding way to swimming as a competitive sport and healthful recreational activity at schools and colleges.

This past season Marsh and the rest of the Auburn coaching staff helped guide the AU women to their second consecutive NCAA title and the Tiger men to the third in school history. The double victory was the first in NCAA swimming history by a combined staff. For his efforts, Marsh was named NCAA Coach of the Year for both the men and women, sharing the women's honor with AU Co-Head Coach Kim Brackin.

This year is the second that Marsh has received the National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy. He also received it in 1999. Marsh is the first individual to ever receive the award more than one.

Others on the list to have received the award include California coach Teri McKeever (2001), Stanford coach Richard Quick (2000), Georgia coach Jack Bauerle (1997) and Texas coach Eddie Reese (1992).

The National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy has been awarded every year since 1958, when Edward T. Kennedy of Columbia University received it. Since that time, four different Southeastern Conference coaches have received the award.