Club Husker Wins, Le Captures Fourth Title on Final Day in Jenks

Photo Courtesy: Anna Luchenback

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

It was a fast final day at the 2018 Speedo Sectionals in Jenks, Okla. Missouri State’s Paul Le earned his fourth individual victory of the weekend while Club Husker swam away with the team title.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Region VIII Summer Sectionals.

Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Club Husker – 1701
2. Scarlet – 1395.5
3. Missouri – 1319
4. Kansas City Blazers – 1191.5
5. Rockwood – 1008

Women’s 1500 Free

Scarlet’s Abigail Kilgallon, who won the women’s 800 free on night one, dominated the 1500 free to begin the fourth and final day of competition. She dropped three seconds from her seed time to win in 16:55.55, 21 seconds ahead of the field.

Springfield’s Kate McCarville knocked 13 seconds from her entry time to take second in 17:16.58 while SwimTulsa’s Liberty Howell dropped 15 seconds to place third in 17:18.96.

Club Husker’s Rachel Powers (17:30.67), Club Husker’s Kaylyn Flatt (17:34.40), Scarlet’s Corey Moon (17:38.64), Wichita’s Katelyn Blattner (17:41.63) and Tideriders’ Joanna Dohrman (17:44.05) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 1500 Free

Antonio Thomas added the men’s 1500 free title in addition to his 400 free win from earlier this weekend. He was the sole swimmer under the 16-minute barrier, getting to the wall first in 15:55.03.

Second place went to Scarlet’s Kyle Iorizzio in 16:06.98 while Jonesboro’s Jack Little grabbed third in 16:25.69.

Trident’s Christopher Callan (16:35.12), Scarlet’s Zach Hu (16:44.69), Empire’s Karold Tjaden (16:48.07), Scarlet’s Jonathan Choi (16:48.54) and Arkansas Dolphins’ Vincent Jaworski (16:50.37) completed the final heat.

Women’s 100 Back

After finishing second in the women’s 50 back at the beginning of the meet, Missouri’s Sarah Thompson found herself on top of the podium in the 100 back. She finished in a final time of 1:03.89 after posting a lifetime best of 1:03.36 during prelims.

Club Husker’s Morgan McCafferty and Huntsville’s Kobie Melton tied for second place after both posting a time of 1:04.22.

Rockwood’s Isabelle Clark (1:04.84), American Energy’s Kellie Fischer (1:04.85), Aquakids’ Allie Rogers (1:05.11), Club Husker’s Lindsey Helferich (1:05.18) and Missouri’s Samantha Wilts (1:05.38) also raced in the A final.

Men’s 100 Back

Missouri State’s Paul Le concluded a dominate meet with a win in the men’s 100 back – his fourth individual title of the weekend. He won by 2.5 seconds in a final time of 55.78.

Rockwood’s Jack Dolan swam to second in 58.23 while Flyers’ Trevor Halliburton took third in 58.37.

Also swimming in the final flight were Sooner’s Aiden Hayes (58.47), Arkansas Dolphins’ Thomas Heye (58.54), Elkhorn’s Ryan Patterson (59.39), Wichita’s Benjamin Patton (59.46) and Sappy County’s Luke Barr (1:01.92).

Women’s 200 IM

Not too long after finishing second in the women’s 1500 free, McCarville was back in the pool to win a close 200 IM race. The 15-year-old used a strong back half to take the title in 2:19.39, just out-touching the runner-up.

Greater Nebraska’s Caroline Theil was second in 2:19.57 while Club Husker’s Allison Kopas finished third in 2:19.69.

Splash Club’s Haley Downey (2:20.46), Splash Club’s Katherine Steward (2:21.53), Club Husker’s Anna McDonald (2:23.19), Luciana Thomas (2:23.87) and Missouri State’s Josie Pearson (2:25.09) completed the top eight.

Men’s 200 IM

A few minutes after posting a seventh-place showing in the men’s 100 back, Patton dove in again to swim to victory in the 200 IM. He got his hand to the wall first in 2:07.68, a new lifetime best by two seconds.

Columbia’s Zachary Lorson was the runner-up in 2:09.22 while Barr finished third overall in a time of 2:09.63.

Greater Omaha’s Conner Funke (2:11.45), Kansas City Blazer’s Ryan Downing (2:11.57), Scarlet’s Justin Park (2:12.48) and Parkway’s Noah Scheuermann (2:18.51) also swam in the fastest heat.

Women’s 50 Free

After recording a second-place finish in the 100 free on night one, Wichita’s Megan Keil was victorious in the 50 free on night four. She stopped the clock in 26.05 for the win.

Thompson and Rockwood’s Anna Miller tied for second, both finishing in 26.34.

Missouri’s Iliana Jones (26.36), Arkansas’ Kiera Michailoff-Russell (26.38), North Shore’s Maggie Summit (26.49), Arkansas’ Erin Kelly (27.16) and Rec Plex’s Courtney Harris (27.31) completed the A final.

Men’s 50 Free

Flyers’ Samuel Heveroh earned the gold in the men’s 50 free to conclude the meet, powering home to a time of 23.24. He also won the 100 free on the first night of competition.

The silver medal went to Dolan in 23.56 while bronze went to Flyers’ Carter Nelson in 23.70.

Fourth through eighth went to Wichita’s Hugh McPherson (24.06), Berzerker’s Benjamin Hines (24.07), Norfolk’s Cameron Carney (24.19), Club North’s Grant Sloan (24.36) and Enid’s Jason Schroeder (24.43).


  1. Cassie Brouwer

    Allison Hartman McCarville!!

  2. Ryan Rieker

    Way to go Club Husker!