CIF San Diego Section High School Championships

By David Rieder

SAN DIEGO, California, May 28. THE CIF San Diego Section High School Championships took place May 18-21 at Del Norte High School. Diving events were held at San Diego Mesa College.

Division 1 Girls
La Costa Canyon's Kendyl Stewart and Torrey Pines' Kelsey Kafka each doubled with two individual wins. Stewart set a section record of 49.77 in the 100 free to crush Alison Terry's 1989 record of 50.56. She returned later in the 100 back to post a 54.61. That time just missed Nicole Parmenter's 2009 section record of 54.55 but did beat Stewart's own Division 1 record of 54.89 from last year.

Kafka, meanwhile, won the 200 IM (2:05.14) and 100 breast (1:03.27) and swam on two winning Torrey Pines relays. Allison DeParalta, Kafka, Allison Paris, and Anique Hermann posted a 1:46.31 for the win in the 200 medley relay, while Margaret Guo anchored the 400 free relay team of DePeralta, Kafka, and Hermann to victory in 3:31.60. Torrey Pines' Nicole Skaggs, Ariel Jordan, Eva Pold, and Guo won the 200 free relay in 1:37.27.

San Pasqual's Chandra Lukes set two section records in the 50 free. She clocked 23.61 in prelims before lowering the mark to 23.21 in the final. Carlsbad's Monica Dornick won the 200 free (1:49.29), while Mission Hills' Justine Panian grabbed first in the 100 fly (56.33). Rancho Bernardo's Riley Spitser earned the win in the 500 free (4:55.06), and teammate Haley Francois scored 252.40 points for the win in one meter diving.

Torrey Pines cruised to the team title with 295 points, while Carlsbad (174) edged Rancho Bernardo (171) for runner-up honors.

Division 1 Boys
Rancho Bernardo's Trent Williams and La Costa Canyon's Michael Mackle each won two individual events, and Williams set the only section record of the meet. His winning time of 1:37.77 in the 200 free crushed the 1:38.44 set 22 years ago by Mike Picotte (1:38.44). He later won the 100 free in 45.48, just off Picotte's record of 45.21. Mackle, meanwhile won the 200 IM (1:50.56) and 100 back (50.59) and swam on two winning relays for La Costa Canyon. Jamey Lyon, Mackle, Stefan Knight, and Jason Missalidis won both the 200 medley (1:36.45) and 400 free relays (3:11.38).

Individually, Knight took first place in the 50 free (21.03), and teammate Lyon won the 500 free (4:28.99). Scripps Ranch's Henrick Ohrstrom broke 50 seconds to win the 100 fly (49.93), and Vista's team of Evan Dean, Like Minka, Rhett Turvey, and Ryder Roberts won the 200 free relay in 1:27.92. Granite Hills' Thomas Hodgson took the 100 breast (58.99), and teammate Kevin Dreesen won one meter diving with 368.70 points.

Torrey Pines won the meet with 203.5 points. La Costa Canyon took second with 160, and Granite Hills rounded out the top-three with 134.

Division 2 Girls
La Jolla's Heren Alanis and Cathedral Catholic's Roslyn Kackman each scored two individual wins at the D2 girls' meet. Alanis won the 200 IM (2:03.63) and 500 free (4:53.89), while Kackman hit the wall first in the 200 free (1:51.92) and 100 fly (57.00). On its way to the team championship, Cathedral Catholic's Jenna Harris, Kimberli Boone, Kackman, and Katie Kochalko won the 200 medley relay in 1:50.54, while Molly Barry swam the third leg of Cathedral Catholic's winning 400 free relay (3:34.66), consisting also of Harris, Boone, and Kackman.

Canyon Crest's Annabel Tomes put her hand on the wall first in the 50 free (23.67), while Academy of Our Lady of Peace's Haley Ferrer won the 100 free (51.67). Valhalla's Sarah Luibel took the 100 back (58.38) and Helix Charter's Rosa Bebi the 100 breast (1:05.72). Mt. Carmel won the 200 free relay in 1:38.96 with Shuchi Chaturvedi, Kathryn Evans, Nicole Bustamante, and Dana Jones swimming the four legs. Serra's Hannah Tomp won one meter diving with 247.47 points.

Cathedral Catholic won the competition with a 12-point margin over Valhalla, 207 to 195. Mt. Carmel finished third with 155 points.

Division 2 Boys
Valhalla's Codi Saunders provided the individual fireworks with two wins and two Division 2 records. He won the 200 IM in 1:51.24 to take more than a second off Brandon Meier's D2 record of 1:52.39 set in 2010. He later posted a 57.05 to win the 100 breast, again under Meier's 2010 record of 57.63. Mt. Carmel's Danny Ettelson and La Jolla's Eric Hedlin both doubled as well, as each won a pair of freestyle races. Ettelson took first in the 50 (21.05) and 100 (45.96), while Hedlin grabbed the 200 (1:38.70) and 500 (4:23.63).

Mt. Carmel's Nguyen Hong won the 100 fly (52.07), while Westview's Anton Razanav took the 100 back (50.62). In relay action, Mt. Carmel's Austin Quigley, Judge Lee, Hong, and Ettelson won the 200 medley relay (1:37.14), while Hong and Ettleson provided the bookends for Derek Sultz and Ryan Enshaie on the winning 200 free relay for Mt. Carmel (1:28.61). Steele Canyon's team of Marco Russo, Shawn Howen, David Mai, and Brent Kerrigan concluded the meet with the 400 free relay win (3:13.92). La Jolla's Quinton Mendoza took the win in one meter diving with 221.20 points.

Mt. Carmel dominated the team race, winning with 234 points. Meanwhile, Valhalla scored 135.5 points to edge out Steele Canyon (133) for second place overall.